We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special stop in Banff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Restaurant

El Toro Restaurant
429 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1l 1A6, Canada
403.762.2520
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: El Toro after a long day skiing or for your romantic dinner in our warm and cosy atmosphere! Tapas, Cahteaubriand for two or delicious steak will be sure to satisfy all taste buds!
St. Albert
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A special stop in Banff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our visit to the restaurant was upon recommendation of the hotel in the same building. We were welcomed by the staff and our server was very attentive to us. There were several groups in there at the same time but our food was tasty, had a good presentation, and was served at a good temperature.
Besides dinner we also enjoyed breakfast there. The crepes with yogurt and fruit purée were great and a nice change from other pancakes. Again the server was attentive to us but also included some information about Banff and its attractions. Although we are familiar with Banff, her comments were appreciated.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    103
    31
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“One Word: Chateaubriand”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We went to El Toro on the recommendation of our hotel. We were so glad that they suggested it. We decided to order the Chateaubriand For Two. I have to say that it was most definitely the best beef I've ever had in my life. It just melted in your mouth - and what a flavour. It's prepared at your table which is kind of fun. The only negative thing that I could say about our meal was that we both found the Caesar salad a little bland, but the main course more than made up for it. If we're ever in Banff again, we'll definitely be going there and I already know what I'm ordering!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

Following other comments from T.A. we chose to have breakfast at El Toro having paid over the odds the previous morning at the hotel we were staying at.
This was a very good decision. Good choice,attentive service and an acceptable price made for a most enjoyable breakfast.
The food was of a very good quality,hot and served with a smile. I have no reservation in recommending it.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
1 review
“the perfect place to take your wife”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

i made a reservation for me and my wifes 8 year anniversery and was amazed with the whole dinner, i would go again, our waitress was one of the best. next time were in banff were gonna try the breakfast

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Good breakfast. Good service. Fresh fruit, good coffee, good menu.
I'll consider this restaurant for breakfast next time I'm in Banff.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to El Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.