We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Restaurant

El Toro Restaurant
429 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1l 1A6, Canada
403.762.2520
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: El Toro after a long day skiing or for your romantic dinner in our warm and cosy atmosphere! Tapas, Cahteaubriand for two or delicious steak will be sure to satisfy all taste buds!
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

The service was wonderful. The food was very well done. We had the tenderloin and it melted in the mouth. Dessert were amazing. The atmosphere is very relaxing.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    103
    76
    22
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Chateaubriand for 2”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

The Chateaubriand for two is the meal to order here. We have dined here twice and this had been outstanding both times.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Good - could be great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

This has the makings of a great restaurant. Service was good, food was good including the chateaubriand with perfectly cooked veggies. Caesar salad with real bacon. Background music was great. Decor is OK, but could use a little jazzing up and perhaps real plants. I would lose the vinyl tablecloths for dinner. Some tapas could use a little garnish/colour (specifically the manchego). Bread struck me as supermarket baguette. I did notice a number of small children at dinner that may influence management's choices.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, MD
Top Contributor
312 reviews 312 reviews
253 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Tuesday night tapas, $5 each”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Went for Tuesday tapas, $5 each. I had olives and also a stuffed portabello mushroom. Mushroom was outstanding and huge! Mom had ham & cheese crostini with greens, definitely worth the $5, and my husband had corn chips and salsa. The Tuesday $5 special has limited choices... not all of the tapas they serve. There were only 2 or 3 that had meat. Still, good experience. They serve breakfast 7 - 11am, and their dinner menu is not overpriced. Beautiful inside and great service.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Helpful staff - good value food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I ate here lots of times during my 3 month stay in Banff - usually good food, and speedy service - and as we were a big group they organised a buffet style serving for us which was great.

The staff were very helpful and tried to cater for special requests. The bar in El Toro was very nice and welcome after a hard day on the slopes!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to El Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.