We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Restaurant

El Toro Restaurant
429 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1l 1A6, Canada
403.762.2520
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 132 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: El Toro after a long day skiing or for your romantic dinner in our warm and cosy atmosphere! Tapas, Cahteaubriand for two or delicious steak will be sure to satisfy all taste buds!
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We ate here on a 'fajitas' deal night and the food was fantastic! The service was fast and friendly.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    166
    121
    39
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great service and great selection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

The menu is very well put together with many options. Prices are reasonable for the quality and portion size. Service was one of the best I've experienced in Banff. Reservations suggested as it seems to get quite full. Highly recommended.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“OK food but nothing to write home about”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

We primarily went based on the location it being right across the road from where we were staying. We all had Fajitas which means I can't give a very wide view of the menu, while they were OK and had plenty of meat the flavour was a bit lacking as they didn't have any seasoning or spice, there was nothing wrong with them they just weren't anything special. We went on a Thursday which was cheap wine night with all wine by the glass being $5 which is very cheap for Banff and they seemed to have a good selection, they also had Grizzly Paw beers on tap which was nice.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Excellent food and and service !!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

We had dinner here on the recommendation of two people and came away delighted. We had the Chateaubriand for two as the Thursday evening special meal. The food was superb with the steak being finally cooked at the table-side, complemented with an excellent wine. We will certainly go to El Toros again next visit to Banff

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winton, south Island, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent family breakfast for 5 with friendly and efficient staff. Would need to be very hungry to finish off a whole meal, great food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to El Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.