We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, good atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Restaurant

El Toro Restaurant
429 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1l 1A6, Canada
403.762.2520
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 121 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: El Toro after a long day skiing or for your romantic dinner in our warm and cosy atmosphere! Tapas, Cahteaubriand for two or delicious steak will be sure to satisfy all taste buds!
Winton, south Island, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

Excellent family breakfast for 5 with friendly and efficient staff. Would need to be very hungry to finish off a whole meal, great food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

83% Recommend
    101
    75
    21
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“A staple of every Banff trip for us”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

My husband and I have been going to El Toro on every visit. We always have the Chateau briand, but on a family trip, we went twice and tried something different.

The service that we get is always top notch, as is the Chateau Briand.

On this trip, we also tried some tapas, my husband had the asparagus, I had the empanadillas, and both were amazing!! Although, I had a largish plate, the 2 empanadillas looked small in comparison.

We would always recommend this place to anyone, service and food is terrific!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“good place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

ate here one night.. everything was really good...
fresh made,..
highly recommended
I love these types of restaurants...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Yum Yum Yum”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

I have recently moved to Banff and in the three months I've been here I eat here about every second week. It is just that good!! Out of the 50 or so places to eat in town I can tell you hands down, it's in my top 5!! I mostly come for the burger. It's a real, hand made quality meat patty, juicy but not dripping with fat, not frozen and big. They put some mushrooms and aged cheddar on it (not that orange plastic cheese), caramelised red onions (sweet and delicious) and a couple of rashes of bacon. But the best part, is the olive focaccia bread they put it on. It's always fresh, light and fluffy with just the right amount of olive in it (for those that aren't olive fans it's not over powering just enough). They also serve this up with a thick and creamy chipoltle mayo and big fat hand cut chips. The other thing I like about this place is it's consistency and service. It's a little gem that I'm glad to have found. SO GOOD!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delta, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food, price and service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

El Toro provided dinner every night for our team on a recent retreat in Banff. Our group had some special needs and food allergies that make us a bit of a challenge some times but Isabelle and her staff did a wonderful job of feeding all of us. The food was great and the service was exactly what we expected. Each evening we had the opportunity to see many of the great selections from the menu and I am looking forward to getting back and trying some of the dishes that have been recommended by other guests.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to El Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.