We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's OK but it ain't great” 3 of 5 stars
Review of El Toro Restaurant

El Toro Restaurant
429 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1l 1A6, Canada
403.762.2520
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $35
Cuisines: Mexican, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: El Toro after a long day skiing or for your romantic dinner in our warm and cosy atmosphere! Tapas, Cahteaubriand for two or delicious steak will be sure to satisfy all taste buds!
Clitheroe
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“It's OK but it ain't great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Popped in and had a couple of tenderloin steaks, not too much atmosphere but a nice little place with good friendly service. Steaks were fine but vegetables lack everything including salt in the cooking. It does no go down to anything like an experience to remember. I would not personally recommend to others as a dining phenonemon.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    103
    31
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
portland oregon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice people, poor food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

We chose El Toro for one of our family meals while vacationing in Banff in August, 2011. It was described in TripAdvisor as "mediterranean." In fact, the food is a Banff version of Mexican. We left very disappointed. It was highly rated on TripAdvisor, but it should not be. If you have had good Mexican food, you realize pretty quickly that this is NOT good Mexican food. We (8 of us) were served with good cheer, but I cannot in good conscience recommend the food to others. Spend your money elsewhere.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, British Columbia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Really good all around.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

Each day of the week offers a special. We were there on a monday which is Mexican Night. You have your choice of four entrees regularly priced up to $16.00 for $10.00 each. The food was really good with generous portions. We did find it a little tame for Mexican but easily solved that with some hot sauce. The appetizer we shared was deep fried calamari which came with a salsa verde and was a delicious alternative to tzatziki. The atmosphere was very nice with latin music in the background and the server was very friendly and quite attentive.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north shore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“best restuarant in town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife & I went to El Toro for dinner & had hands down the best food during our stay in Banff. We had 5 different tapas (for a total of $25.00!)dishes & each one was excellent. If you go you have to order the guacamole with plantain chips,best guacamole I ever had,everything is home made fresh. We sat at the bar & the women bartender was so friendly as was the entire wait staff & owner,we really had a nice night. We also went to breakfast there and it was also excelent. (by the way, Mellisas resuarant for breakfast is horrible). Banff restauants in general are fair,so check this place out.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Very good food for a reasonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2011

El Toro's was excellent. We went in with a tight timeline. We told them up front we only had 45 minutes. They did a great job getting everything out quickly. The food was excellent. The fajitas were really good and a great value as two could easily share them. Mojitos were fantastic!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Toro Restaurant also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to El Toro Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage El Toro Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.