We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fondue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant

Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant
415 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
(403) 762-3848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 131 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Italian, Swiss, European
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We ate here because it was close to our hotel. The service and the food were quite good. The wine is rather expensive - there are no cheap options to choose from. The food is also a little too pricy for what you get. I had the cheese fondue, which was very tasty. The downsides were that the cheese was a little thin and it only came with bread, even though we ordered the "meal" version. Some veggies would have been nice! Our friend had pasta which he said was good. We had started with the snails for an appetizer, and you only get 6 with three tiny pieces of pumpernickel bread, and they looked canned. I'd eat here again for the fondue, but maybe only as an appetizer next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Mandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I picked this restaurant for one reason only: it was next door to my hotel. I was tired and it was raining and I asked the hotel desk clerk to direct me to the closest place to get dinner. When she told me there was a swiss-italian place next door, I wasn't sure I wanted to try it, but location won out. Luckily, it turned out that both the service and my meal were very good.

It was a bit expensive, I thought, but not outrageously so. I would certainly eat there again, but probably only for a special occasion to justify the expense.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MakeMineWaterfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Amazing Cheese Fondue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have gone to Ticino's often. The food is alway outstanding and the atmosphere always relaxing(never rushed). The servers talk with you and take care to enjoy you have a great dining experience. I especially love the cheese and chocolate fondue along with the veal dishes. Write this review makes me want to go tonight!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank bkosterski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Love the fondu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We read a few of the comments written on Tripadvisor and debated about going to this place but it was very close to our hotel so we walked down the street to look at the menu and liked what we saw. We did not have a reservation and it looked full but the host managed to seat us within 5 minutes. The decor really reminded us of places that we had eaten in Switzerland. We had the cheese fondue and it was perfect! We both ordered salads and found them fresh and delicious. We were pleasantly satisfied so did not order an entree but noticed many tempting dishes as they passed by. The service was great and the food delicious - certainly a place I would go again and again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
6 Thank happytravelers1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Ohio
Level Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

There is close to nothing that wasn't wonderful about this place. I had this great dish, a stuffed chicken breast coated in hazelnuts and my wife had the lamb. The mushroom soup was great. And the service was perfect.

The only minor thing was like so much in Banff, it was expensive, $130 before the tip, though we both had drinks and split an appetizer and a dessert.

    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Swift-Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing