We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Fondue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant

Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant
415 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
(403) 762-3848
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 125 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Italian, Swiss
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good Fondue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We ate here because it was close to our hotel. The service and the food were quite good. The wine is rather expensive - there are no cheap options to choose from. The food is also a little too pricy for what you get. I had the cheese fondue, which was very tasty. The downsides were that the cheese was a little thin and it only came with bread, even though we ordered the "meal" version. Some veggies would have been nice! Our friend had pasta which he said was good. We had started with the snails for an appetizer, and you only get 6 with three tiny pieces of pumpernickel bread, and they looked canned. I'd eat here again for the fondue, but maybe only as an appetizer next time.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    45
    18
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I picked this restaurant for one reason only: it was next door to my hotel. I was tired and it was raining and I asked the hotel desk clerk to direct me to the closest place to get dinner. When she told me there was a swiss-italian place next door, I wasn't sure I wanted to try it, but location won out. Luckily, it turned out that both the service and my meal were very good.

It was a bit expensive, I thought, but not outrageously so. I would certainly eat there again, but probably only for a special occasion to justify the expense.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Amazing Cheese Fondue!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

We have gone to Ticino's often. The food is alway outstanding and the atmosphere always relaxing(never rushed). The servers talk with you and take care to enjoy you have a great dining experience. I especially love the cheese and chocolate fondue along with the veal dishes. Write this review makes me want to go tonight!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Love the fondu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We read a few of the comments written on Tripadvisor and debated about going to this place but it was very close to our hotel so we walked down the street to look at the menu and liked what we saw. We did not have a reservation and it looked full but the host managed to seat us within 5 minutes. The decor really reminded us of places that we had eaten in Switzerland. We had the cheese fondue and it was perfect! We both ordered salads and found them fresh and delicious. We were pleasantly satisfied so did not order an entree but noticed many tempting dishes as they passed by. The service was great and the food delicious - certainly a place I would go again and again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

There is close to nothing that wasn't wonderful about this place. I had this great dish, a stuffed chicken breast coated in hazelnuts and my wife had the lamb. The mushroom soup was great. And the service was perfect.

The only minor thing was like so much in Banff, it was expensive, $130 before the tip, though we both had drinks and split an appetizer and a dessert.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ticino Swiss-Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.