We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mojito in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace

The Terrace
222 Lynx St (Banff Park Lodge Resort Hotel), Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-762-4433
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Terrace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 132 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf St
Description: The Terrace is excited and proud to present it's transformation into La Terrazza. Our new menu offers freshly prepared authentic Italian cuisine in the heart of downtown Banff.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Mojito in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stopped at the Terrace Lounge for a few mojitos on a Saturday afternoon. Mine was made with mint and my husband's was made with basil. Kelly was our server/drink maker and her mojitos were excellent.

We came back in the evening for the tasting menu with wine compliment. Sara was our server and she has a pleasant way about her and explained each course as it came out.

Overall it was a pleasurable experience.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrace M, Owner at The Terrace, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
We are so glad you enjoyed your day/night with us and thank you for your review. We hope to see you again, and make your next visit just as pleasurable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    35
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“No Cell Phones Please”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014

We had an excellent meal on February 13th - to avoid the Valentines' Day Madness.
We ordered the Tasting Menu which was a real bargain at $54 excluding wine pairing. There were 5 courses: smoked char, quail with parsnip puree, blood orange granita, lamb duo, and dessert trio. Only the lamb duo was ordinary compared to the other 4 outstanding and original courses. There being only 3 tables occupied, the service was excellent.
The only downside as the jerk talking his whole dinner at full volume on his bluetooth to his absent wife about his business day.
I asked the waitress if there was anything she could do to shut him up or quiet him down. But she did/could not do anything. Pity the poor couple next to him.
Management should have stepped in.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

Everything we tried here was fantastic. Service was also great. We would return. This is a nice enough restaurant to require a dress code, which would be nice since it seems that some people from the attached hotel show up in shabby jeans.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, Wyoming
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Food might be good but they are not serving their customers”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014

The bar and the dining room are connected - open room, separated by a 1/2 wall. I wanted to order off the dining room menu and sit it the bar. They said that was not possible so I said I would move 5 feet and sit in the restaurant only to be told that they had a party of 20 that was 1/2 through their meal and I couldn't be seated for 30-40 minutes. There were at least 7 open tables. The menu looked great and they had great reviews but I left disappointed.

I also asked as a hotel guest if I could order room service from the Terrace menu and was told no.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The complete package; excellent food, fabulous service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

From the Moscow Mule to start off our evening ...to the fabulous Ginger dessert, the entire dining experience was "top-notch". The Elk Medallions were mouth watering, the portions incredibly generous, and the service was impeccable. I'd return to Terrace in a heartbeat! And let'ks not forget the personal visit from Chef Manser! The final touch!!!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.