We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace

The Terrace
222 Lynx St (Banff Park Lodge Resort Hotel), Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-4433
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Terrace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #15 of 126 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $21 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf St
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a very nice meal here. The food was quite good. They have a great wine list! The atmosphere was fine - nothing really special… We'd go back though!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    27
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Best meal of our lives!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Husband and I shared the maple duck appetizer, elk entree, bison entree and the cheesecake. Flavours were amazing! The portions aren't huge, but the ingredients are premium quality and prepared properly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Can't believe it's so highly ranked”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's amazing how much people's experiences of a place differ. We booked this a couple of months in advance based on the tripadvisor ranking (it was number 1 at the time). Its in the reception of a hotel, which looks a little dated but is otherwise ok. It certainly had the older person/ large tour group clientele, but service was friendly.

The entree started out ok, an asparagus soup with tarragon. Simple but tasty. The mains sounded delicious but when it came out, we were really surprised and disappointed. Quantity was ok, but the fish was tasteless and had no real sauce on it, and the vegetables (particularly these little potato/yam pieces) were so hard you could barely pierce them with a fork. The vegies seemed to be near-raw (not crispy, which I like, but RAW). I asked the waitress about this and she just disappeared without a word.

The gift didn't stop giving, so the toilet was my friend for some hours afterwards. I'm not sure what it was, but it wasn't good.

There are much nicer places in Banff, try those...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Booked the Terrace based on other reviews and was not disappointed! From the cocktails to the food everything was excellent. Small atrium style space behind the lounge, not as modern as some, but not stuffy either. A must if you enjoy interesting food prepared well. Definitely will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
“Good place to dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were staying at the Banff Lodge Hotel and had buffet breakfast and dined at the Terrace while there. It was very convenient as being part of the hotel and was always busy which to us was a good sign. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from. With dinner there was a large choice on the menu and it was well presented and very nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.