We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace

The Terrace
222 Lynx St (Banff Park Lodge Resort Hotel), Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-762-4433
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Terrace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 129 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $33
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf St
Description: The Terrace is excited and proud to present it's transformation into La Terrazza. Our new menu offers freshly prepared authentic Italian cuisine in the heart of downtown Banff.
Saskatoon
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Excellent Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We had a very nice meal here. The food was quite good. They have a great wine list! The atmosphere was fine - nothing really special… We'd go back though!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    29
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best meal of our lives!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Husband and I shared the maple duck appetizer, elk entree, bison entree and the cheesecake. Flavours were amazing! The portions aren't huge, but the ingredients are premium quality and prepared properly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Can't believe it's so highly ranked”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's amazing how much people's experiences of a place differ. We booked this a couple of months in advance based on the tripadvisor ranking (it was number 1 at the time). Its in the reception of a hotel, which looks a little dated but is otherwise ok. It certainly had the older person/ large tour group clientele, but service was friendly.

The entree started out ok, an asparagus soup with tarragon. Simple but tasty. The mains sounded delicious but when it came out, we were really surprised and disappointed. Quantity was ok, but the fish was tasteless and had no real sauce on it, and the vegetables (particularly these little potato/yam pieces) were so hard you could barely pierce them with a fork. The vegies seemed to be near-raw (not crispy, which I like, but RAW). I asked the waitress about this and she just disappeared without a word.

The gift didn't stop giving, so the toilet was my friend for some hours afterwards. I'm not sure what it was, but it wasn't good.

There are much nicer places in Banff, try those...

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Booked the Terrace based on other reviews and was not disappointed! From the cocktails to the food everything was excellent. Small atrium style space behind the lounge, not as modern as some, but not stuffy either. A must if you enjoy interesting food prepared well. Definitely will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hervey Bay, Australia
Top Contributor
242 reviews 242 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
179 helpful votes 179 helpful votes
“Good place to dine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were staying at the Banff Lodge Hotel and had buffet breakfast and dined at the Terrace while there. It was very convenient as being part of the hotel and was always busy which to us was a good sign. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast was very good with plenty to choose from. With dinner there was a large choice on the menu and it was well presented and very nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.