We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dining in Banff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace

The Terrace
222 Lynx St (Banff Park Lodge Resort Hotel), Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-4433
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Terrace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #20 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $22 - $36
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf St
calgary, alberta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Best dining in Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My husband and I visited this restaurant based on the Trip Advisor reviews. It's really a lovely room that they have, with fabulous views. We ordered the pumpkin ravioli for appetizers (amazing!), and the King Salmon for our entrees (also fabulous). The service was top notch. We would definitely eat here again next time we are in Banff. Love this restaurant!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    27
    13
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We looked up the No. 1 restaurant in Banff and discovered it was just downstairs in our hotel. It definitely lived up to the reviews. As someone with a small appetite it was great to not be overwhelmed by huge amounts of food on the plate - although I guess this would be a bad thing if you had a big appetite.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Exceptional Food and Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

Great service and an exceptional meal! Would definately eat there again. My husband is very picky about eating in restaurants as he is a chef. We checked the menu before choosing and knew right away that this was his type of restaurant. The menu is small but everything we ate was awesome! We will be back.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheboro, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A quiet gem..best dining experience of 10-day trans-Canada excursion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our party of 4 adults stayed a couple nights at Banff Park Lodge amidst a tran-canada rail excursion Toronto to Vancouver.....an arrival night decision to dine in the hotel "Terrace Restaurant" was one of the best of the trip. We were seated in a near-private quiet corner of the otherwise surprisingly sparsely filled, tastefully decorated,very comfortable restaurant.
Our visting European waitress was superb, possibly surpassed by the quality of the appetizers and entrees we chose. All in all, the best dining experience of our 10-day excursion !!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food, beautiful setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I attended a large dinner party at the Terrace and was amazed at how beautiful it was. The walls of windows were beautiful and the plants that outlined the restaurant were a really nice touch. The variety on the menu was so vast it was hard to choose just one item! I had an excellent meal (terrace salad and elk medallions) in a great environment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.