We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dining in so so hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace

The Terrace
222 Lynx St (Banff Park Lodge Resort Hotel), Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-762-4433
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Terrace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 132 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf St
Description: The Terrace is excited and proud to present it's transformation into La Terrazza. Our new menu offers freshly prepared authentic Italian cuisine in the heart of downtown Banff.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great dining in so so hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Dined here with my family during our visit to Banff Springs. Chose it based on reviews. Were not disappointed. Highly recommend the warm Fennel and Beet salad. It was wonderful. Our table also loved the Terrace Salad, King salmon and especially the elk tenderloin.
Our server was okay, one dish was ordered with sauce on the side but it did not come that way.
The restaurant is not fancy, and the Hotel it is in has a busy lobby. Restrooms for the restaurant are in the lobby and with so many people coming thru, it needed attention. Great food, but don't expect a romantic or quiet venue.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    35
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The other guys are right, fab cocktails and tasty comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Aussie cocktail maker was very good. The Lychee Caprioska was wonderful, especially to watch being made. My Gin Martini with Botanist Gin was very good too. The service from Sarah was impeccable, although the restaurant was empty, so we couldn't judge what they are like under pressure. The food was perfectly cooked and customised cooking requests were accommodated. A classy restaurant with great staff and food. Wines reasonably priced compared to the other 5 dot places in Banff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Most enjoyable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Last night I dined in the dining room at the Banff Park Lodge and was extremely pleased with my dining experience. The meal far surpassed my expectations! The presentation and flavours of the food was most enjoyable.
Reception upon check in was very pleasant and welcoming. The rooms have a modern touch and are very clean and comfortable.
The location of the hotel makes walking downtown Banff very acessible.
All in all, a most enjoyable stay.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Culinary delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

My husband and I went to the Terrace for a romantic night out. We had cocktails in the lounge which blew both of us away. I have been to the Banff Springs hotel and other fine establishments but have not had the care and finess of these bartenders! You have to try the Cucumber Collins made with 2 fresh lemons and 1/2 a muddled cucumber. Felt more like a spa cocktail then a lounge. We then were seated in a quite corner...wow, had the pumpkin ravioli,(I will be back for this) Amazing, then I had the Salmon and my husband had the duo of veal. As people who enjoy good dining we will become regulars! Price is amazing compared to similar restaurants in Banff.
We loved the food and the service. top notch!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointment!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We went here after looking on trip advisor and there was so many good review of this place. We were completely disappointed!! The food was over all to much and to complicated! Scallops were defiantly not cooked well no sear yet over done. Venison carpaccio had to much going on. Veal cheeks where very soft but description said Brussels sprout and it came out with one shredded sprout. I had the salmon the sauce was way to sweet!! Even the drinks were awful! And it cost 120!! Way to much for place who is desperately trying to 'fancy' to many flavours in each dish. We went to the MAPLE LEAF the night before and spent 175 everything was AMAZING! Go there!!!! Don't waste your money here!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.