We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace

The Terrace
222 Lynx St (Banff Park Lodge Resort Hotel), Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-4433
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Terrace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 123 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $22 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf St
Huntsville, AL
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Slow service good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

We dined here with our two grown sons on Christmas Eve. Food was great but our server was clearly unable to manage her load of patrons and we sat for long stretches waiting as well as having to always ask for what we needed.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    103
    27
    12
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Find!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

We had an absolutely outstanding meal with 8 family members on Christmas Eve this year! The menu has something to satisfy every taste from young (5 years) to the birthday boy (71) . We were particularly impressed with the extensive gluten free menu that was required for 2 in our party. We began with cocktails in the lounge and enjoyed handcrafted drinks featuring fresh juices that are a rarity in most places these days. For appetizers we shared the venison carpaccio (delicious!), escargot en croute, and the scallops in buckwheat crepes. The bread baskets with fresh olive, goat cheese and lime butter was to die for (they also had a separate basket of gluten free bread - unheard of!). Entrees ordered were the elk, lamb, pumpkin ravioli, tenderloin, the sauces were excellent and everyone was a winner. The wine list is extensive, the staff knowledgable and helpful but not overbearing. We were too full for dessert but will definitely return to try. The decor was tastefully done in a holiday theme which added to our overall experience.
This is a place that we will be returning to again and again!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Looked Nice But Had to Leave”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

About 5 minutes after we were seated at a nice table and started looking at the menu a large group (20 people) were seated right behind us. They were so loud I couldn't hear myself think let alone carry on a conversation with my wife.

The wait staff couldn't/wouldn't change our seats as other seats were "specifically" reserved for other people.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

We went to The Terrace as the first stop of our Banff Bon Appetit vacation! What a perfect way to start things off.. We were seated in the corner of the restaurant which was private and romantic. The server was extremely helpful and the whole experience was "fancy"! My boyfriend and I each loved our selections from the Bon Appetit menu! Just delicious. My boyfriend had a Fall Salad to start which was really to die for -- the smoked bacon really was a highlight for the whole meal! I had Pumpkin Ravioli, Pork Belly, and Apple & Raisin Crumble... Everything was amazing. I'll definitely eat here again!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious! Finely executed dishes. Price is totally fair.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I tried the 5 course meal and its worth it. My husband has seared scallops and elk. Excellent dishes! Chef and waitresses are very kind, they offered my husband a free black current granite while they were preparing the next course.

5 Course meal $49
- Due of Duck Praline of Foie Gras & House Smoked Duck
- Green Asparagus Veloutee with seared scallop & bacon
- Blackcurrent Granite
- Lamb Due Sous-vide Lamb Shoulder & Rack of Lamb with Boursin Risotto, Ratatouille and Vegetable
- Yogurt Cream Brulee with Dark Chocolate & Almond

Appetizer: Seared Scallops on buckwheat crepes with leek foudue $13
Entree: Elk Medallions on cranberry and chestnut chutney with brandy jue served with coffee infused mashed potatoes $37

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.