We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious! Finely executed dishes. Price is totally fair.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace

The Terrace
222 Lynx St (Banff Park Lodge Resort Hotel), Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
+1 403-762-4433
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Terrace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 132 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf St
Description: The Terrace is excited and proud to present it's transformation into La Terrazza. Our new menu offers freshly prepared authentic Italian cuisine in the heart of downtown Banff.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Delicious! Finely executed dishes. Price is totally fair.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I tried the 5 course meal and its worth it. My husband has seared scallops and elk. Excellent dishes! Chef and waitresses are very kind, they offered my husband a free black current granite while they were preparing the next course.

5 Course meal $49
- Due of Duck Praline of Foie Gras & House Smoked Duck
- Green Asparagus Veloutee with seared scallop & bacon
- Blackcurrent Granite
- Lamb Due Sous-vide Lamb Shoulder & Rack of Lamb with Boursin Risotto, Ratatouille and Vegetable
- Yogurt Cream Brulee with Dark Chocolate & Almond

Appetizer: Seared Scallops on buckwheat crepes with leek foudue $13
Entree: Elk Medallions on cranberry and chestnut chutney with brandy jue served with coffee infused mashed potatoes $37

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    35
    14
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delightful dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

We were staying at the Bow View Lodge, a sister property of the Banff Park Lodge Resort Hotel. Made reservations and had a delightful, delicious dinner. We were seated at a large picture window with a wonderful view. The wait staff was attentive, but not overbearing. Overall, an enjoyable, romantic experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fine dining at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012 via mobile

Had a fantastic meal here over the thanksgiving weekend. Staff were exceptionally friendly and knew their chefs dishes well. Elk medallions as a main were to die for, paired with the coffee infused mash was a surprisingly good addition. 10 hour slow cooked lamb was also a superb choice. Can also highly recommend the Pumpkin Ravioli as a starter. Overall, great meal with good pricing - will be going back next time!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Delicious Meal!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fantastic meal right in the heart of Banff. The Elk was absolutely delicious! All staff were extremly friendly and helpful I would definitely recfommend a trip to The Terrace for dinner to anyone visitng Banff

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
“Another wonderful dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I enjoyed yet another dinner here over the Thanksgiving long weekend with some friends. We all shared our entrees so we could each have a taste! We started with the seared scallops, terrace salad, and escargots. All perfectly prepared and a great portion size. The terrace salad was the biggest surprise...pickled mushrooms with double smoked bacon. Who knew!?!?
Moving onto mains we ordered the elk medallions; the coffee mashed potatoes were tasty and the medallions were cooked to perfection. Lamb shoulder; very tender and flavourful. Veal tenderloin; definite winner of the night! This dish was so tender and so full of flavour! Paired off with a couple bottles of wine selected for us and a few specialty cocktails in the lounge to start made for a very enjoyable evening. I have yet to be disappointed with the quality of food or service I receive when eating here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.