We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful dinner!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Terrace

The Terrace
222 Lynx St (Banff Park Lodge Resort Hotel), Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-4433
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Terrace is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $22 - $37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf St
Banff, Canada
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
“Another wonderful dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I enjoyed yet another dinner here over the Thanksgiving long weekend with some friends. We all shared our entrees so we could each have a taste! We started with the seared scallops, terrace salad, and escargots. All perfectly prepared and a great portion size. The terrace salad was the biggest surprise...pickled mushrooms with double smoked bacon. Who knew!?!?
Moving onto mains we ordered the elk medallions; the coffee mashed potatoes were tasty and the medallions were cooked to perfection. Lamb shoulder; very tender and flavourful. Veal tenderloin; definite winner of the night! This dish was so tender and so full of flavour! Paired off with a couple bottles of wine selected for us and a few specialty cocktails in the lounge to start made for a very enjoyable evening. I have yet to be disappointed with the quality of food or service I receive when eating here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    102
    25
    12
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Food good, ambiance lacking”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

The food was pretty good here but the atmosphere was completely lacking. I had the smoked duck breast appetizer and the pork belly entree. The app was fantastic with different flavors coming together well. The entree tasted good but was not cooked properly. The skin was very tough and chewy. I could barely cut through it with my knife. Definitely not crispy as pork belly skin should be. My wife had the venison carpaccio and elk medallions. Both were good but, especially the sauce for the elk, but neither were out of this world.

I would go back for the food, but I was completely underwhelmed by the atmosphere. The dining room is basically a room off the main hallway. The view almost seems like a back alley. The blinds were blocking the view up, which might have provided a mountain view but not a great one.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Elegant dining in downtown Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

We had the elk medallions which were tender,tasty, and well presented. The wine list was comprehensive, and the service was courteous and professional. The dining room atmosphere was subdued and relaxing. The prices were not out of line, considering the quality of the meal. We would return to this restaurant.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Mountain splendor; old Banff luxury”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

On a clear warm day, lunch is a bargain. The burger was the best in Western Canada. Alberta prime beef, smoked bacon, mushrooms with substance and a perfect bun. Came with a green salad with glazed walnuts, grapes and blue cheese. The view and the history makes this an unparalleled choice.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Simply excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We had a fantastic meal at the Terrace when we were in Banff recently. The restaurant is very nicely presented and our waitress was helpful and friendly. I tried the Elk medallions with coffee infused mashed potato - It was a fantastic. The elk was cooked to perfection and the coffee mashed potato was amazing (I don't even drink coffee normally!). This restaurant was a bit more expensive than some others but the quality of the food was definitely worth it. This was probably our favourite restaurant that we went to while we were travelling in the Rockies.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Terrace also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park

Been to The Terrace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Terrace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.