We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warmth on chilly night” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tooloulou's

Tooloulou's
204 Caribou Street | P.O. Box 2601, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
+1 403-762-2633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tooloulou's is a locally owned and operated restaurant in Banff Alberta. We offer sizeable Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner menu choices with a Cajun Creole touch & some Canadian flair. Laissez les bon temps rouler! (Let the good times roll !)
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Warmth on chilly night”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

We visited this warm and inviting restaurant on a cold and chilly night. The restaurant has a friendly atmosphere which was enhanced by the waiter. Food is tasty and hearty and good advice given by the waiter re our choices. My son had the jumbalaya which was a generous serve and very tasty. I had the crab claws. They were a bit bland for my taste but the accompanying dirty rice and sides were delicious.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    89
    38
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“Flavourless Food, Overpriced.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My partner and I stumbled upon this place on Saturday night during the dinner rush after having tried a couple of other places which had huge waits. This restaurant was off the main street, seemed well-reviewed with an interesting Louisiana-inspired menu, and wasn't packed to the brim. We tried the cornbread fritters, a seafood pasta dish, and the gumbo. Everything was mediocre, including the service. The sauce was thin and flavourless, which came as a shock as we were expecting well-seasoned bold Cajun flavours. The cornbread was nicely done but a little burnt at the crust, and the fritters were over-fried and burnt as well. For $60 (with no alcohol), we could have definitely done better somewhere else.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

we did not have a reservation, but happened on this quaint local restaurant! it was close and fun; service was great! food was plentiful; Huge portions!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Gluten Free Breakfast Option”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

As a celiac there are not many options for breakfast when travelling. We googled and found this place. It was good. I just had an omelet, the oven roasted potatoes and gluten free toast. My husband had a good sized portion of steak and potatoes and eggs and toast. He liked it and left full. We sat at a cute little table right in the window and people watched. The price was reasonable and I didn't get sick so they must know what they are doing for gluten free people.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Magnificent French toasts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Good food, good service, big portions and a large selection of dishes. If you're in Banff, you should definitely try this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tooloulou's also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tooloulou's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tooloulou's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.