We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Spot for Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tooloulou's

Tooloulou's
204 Caribou Street | P.O. Box 2601, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
+1 403-762-2633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $38
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tooloulou's is a locally owned and operated restaurant in Banff Alberta. We offer sizeable Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner menu choices with a Cajun Creole touch & some Canadian flair. Laissez les bon temps rouler! (Let the good times roll !)
Vancouver
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Great Spot for Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stopped here for a quick breakfast on our way to the Calgary airport to fly home. The restaurant is right in the heart of town and is a cute little place. We were lucky to get seated immediately because a big line-up formed right after. The breakfast menu is extensive, the service was very quick, and the food was delicious. All 3 of us had eggs of some kind and I thoroughly enjoyed my eggs bennie. We will definitely go back next time we are in Banff.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    158
    98
    40
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Mouth watering BBQ chicken pizza!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My sister and I ate supper here and dined on a very tasty sourdough bbq chicken! I highly recommend it for pizza lovers!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Very good and wide menu selection.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Ate lunch here. My wife had breakfast of egg white omelet stuffed with feta and spinach and a vanilla crepe. They serve breakfast until 2. The portions were very large and delicious. I only got to sample the spinach. There was no way I was getting any of the crepe. I had the creole jambalaya. It is served with a piece of cornbread. It was spicy and delicious. The coffee was good too. Water is served in a quart bottle so you are never in need of refill.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Wish We'd Found it Sooner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After the complimentary breakfast at our hotel, The Fox, proved to be cold, stale & disgusting, we searched for a proper meal in town & found Tooloulou's. They serve breakfast there until 2 PM, so our party of four had it for lunch & returned the next morning. The crepes, flapjacks & coffee are heaven-sent, not to mention their omelettes, eggs, sausage & toast. Service is prompt, friendly & totally accommodating. It's a small café, & popular, so get there early!

We only wish we had know about Tooloulou's (down Caribou, off Banff Ave.) last year during our first trip to Banff. But better late than never. We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We only ate here twice as we weren't in Banff for long but we enjoyed the full breakfasts (I had the veggie Canadian - pot&veg hash, buttermilk pancake and honey grain toast.) My hubby had the meat eaters version with poached eggs and bacon. We then went back for buttermilk pancakes (3 and biiiig!) with banana and pecans - soooooo good! The buttermilk biscuits are delish!

There was always a little queue but there's a reason why and we never had to wait long. Haven't eaten any other meals here but they looked good and big portions. The menu was great - so varied with lots of options for vegetarians despite the amount of meat / seafood choices.

Service was friendly and accommodating

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tooloulou's also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tooloulou's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tooloulou's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.