We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good and wide menu selection.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tooloulou's

Tooloulou's
204 Caribou Street | P.O. Box 2601, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada
+1 403-762-2633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $5 - $40
Cuisines: Cajun & Creole
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Tooloulou's is a locally owned and operated restaurant in Banff Alberta. We offer sizeable Breakfast, Lunch & Dinner menu choices with a Cajun Creole touch & some Canadian flair. Laissez les bon temps rouler! (Let the good times roll !)
Columbus, OH
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Very good and wide menu selection.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Ate lunch here. My wife had breakfast of egg white omelet stuffed with feta and spinach and a vanilla crepe. They serve breakfast until 2. The portions were very large and delicious. I only got to sample the spinach. There was no way I was getting any of the crepe. I had the creole jambalaya. It is served with a piece of cornbread. It was spicy and delicious. The coffee was good too. Water is served in a quart bottle so you are never in need of refill.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    89
    38
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Jersey
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wish We'd Found it Sooner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

After the complimentary breakfast at our hotel, The Fox, proved to be cold, stale & disgusting, we searched for a proper meal in town & found Tooloulou's. They serve breakfast there until 2 PM, so our party of four had it for lunch & returned the next morning. The crepes, flapjacks & coffee are heaven-sent, not to mention their omelettes, eggs, sausage & toast. Service is prompt, friendly & totally accommodating. It's a small café, & popular, so get there early!

We only wish we had know about Tooloulou's (down Caribou, off Banff Ave.) last year during our first trip to Banff. But better late than never. We'd go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We only ate here twice as we weren't in Banff for long but we enjoyed the full breakfasts (I had the veggie Canadian - pot&veg hash, buttermilk pancake and honey grain toast.) My hubby had the meat eaters version with poached eggs and bacon. We then went back for buttermilk pancakes (3 and biiiig!) with banana and pecans - soooooo good! The buttermilk biscuits are delish!

There was always a little queue but there's a reason why and we never had to wait long. Haven't eaten any other meals here but they looked good and big portions. The menu was great - so varied with lots of options for vegetarians despite the amount of meat / seafood choices.

Service was friendly and accommodating

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good though inauthentic creole at a good price for Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

We liked this rest enough that we visited it three times over two days: once for dinner and twice for breakfast . Portions are more than adequate, even with two adults sharing an applies and entree. And the waitress we had the first two meals was friendly, helpful and efficient. Some of the food was excellent: the steamed mussels, catfish nuggets apple, and the omelettes in particular (we loved the western, the crawfish, and the chicken and sausage with creole sauce). But the mixed seafood steamed bucket was dry and overlooked, the jambalaya not like any I'd seen elsewhere (and no seafood) but enjoyable. A celiac person in our party was assured the mussels with corn bread was gluten free, but her experiences the next day suggest otherwise. Though the creole/Cajun authenticity was suspect on some dishes, the food and service was good and the price reasonable-for Banff.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Dining in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Situated in the main town, 15 minutes walk from the main hotels & motels
Friendly staff who were very attentive. Our waiter, who was I think was the owner, was from Venezuela
A very unusual varied menu, with odd named items, which was a pleasant change from all the other fast food chains and 'run of the mill' restaurants situated nearby.
Reasonably priced food and drinks.
For something pleasantly out of the ordinary, well worth visiting.


Cannesdid .....surfingsyd

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tooloulou's also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Tooloulou's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tooloulou's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.