We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maple Leaf

The Maple Leaf
137 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
403-760-7680
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Maple Leaf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Caribou Street
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely meal. It was not cheap but the quality was good. While in Canada we thought we should have a local wine, it was expensive and not that good. Overall we had a great night and enjoyed our meal.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

584 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    317
    159
    62
    27
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

We popped into here unplanned when we were walking through the townsite on a cold day. The service was super friendly and fast. The menu had so many great choices it was hard to choose just one! I had the tuna melt and my husband had the breakfast poutine and both were excellent. Great comfort food on a cold day. Our only regret is not making it back here for dinner during our trip. Highly recommended!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Simply Great Tasting Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Went to the Maple leaf in Banff tonight. This was the first time going there. Their special tonight was Elk Filet wrapped in Bacon with a pepercorn sauce. Two in our party ordered it and ranted and raved about it through the whole meal. I had the sirloin steak. Tender, tasty and GREAT. The service was excellent, very professional, and just done right. You nver felt that any one was hovering, yet you were never out of water or coffee and there was no "so who ordered..." kind of thing.

This is not an inexpensive place to eat, but the food was worth the price, the service was superb and it made for simply a wonderful night out.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We stopped in the lounge part of Maple Leaf restaurant on a Saturday afternoon and were not disappointed. The bartender/waiter served us a year ago when we were in Banff last. We should have asked his name because management should know that he goes above and beyond the call of duty. We requested 24 oysters and even though it was the afternoon and the oysters are on the evening menu our server managed to get us the 24 we requested. He even suggested trying them with Tabasco sauce and worshestershire sauce. Not a combination that we would have thought of. It is nice to go someplace and made to feel special by accommodating our request.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Wonderful. Valentine's dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Excellent food, service and ambience....loved the Creme brûlée trio......we had the best evening ever..highly recommended!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maple Leaf also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park

Been to The Maple Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maple Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.