We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine 'er' dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maple Leaf

The Maple Leaf
137 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
403-760-7680
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Maple Leaf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Caribou Street
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Fine 'er' dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

There is a vast choice of restaurants to choose from in Banff. I spend two weeks here on vacation every other year and would always pay the maple leaf a visit. One of the best restaurants in the town. Its not quite fine dining but its one of the closest youll get in Banff. fantastically warm and vibrant atmosphere in a lovely upstars or down restaurant. Food is excellent with service to match but if you're looking for a budget meal its not ideal.
If i was only in Banff for 3 nights this would be one of the places id choose so dont miss it.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    306
    154
    60
    26
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Western Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't miss this restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

This restaurant was our favourite in Banff (Earls was a close second). It is a little bit more expensive than the average in Banff but you absolutely get what you pay for. My wife and I had a truly great meal at the Maple Leaf and Stephanie, our waitress, was friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. We walked out of the Maple Leaf feeling really pleased that we had eaten there and for mine, that is the sign of a really good night out.
You will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Back for a 2nd Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

This was my second time to this restaurant. I brought some friends from Ontario and had enjoyed it so much that I had to go back. The Maple Leaf didn’t disappoint. For a Thursday night during off season, this restaurant was busy and rightly so. The service was spot on, the timing was excellent, and what is even better the food was fantastic.
The seafood was awesome, and the portions were if anything too large. Their wine list was well selected. Only disappointment was I couldn’t eat more. Banff has a lot of restaurants, unfortunately I’m not getting to try them, because I like this one so much! I’ll be back again.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Louis, MO, USA
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant for lunch and dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had planned to eat here when the visitors center gave us a list of restaurants that serve gluten-free options. Ended up there for lunch after visiting the Whyte museum and some shopping. The food was excellent-fresh and well-presented, by a wonderful server who helped us get onto wifi so we could follow the baseball game. Overall, the decor and the food were terrific!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fallston, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ambiance leaves a lot to be desired.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were walk ins and were taken upstairs to a dreaded banquette. Said we'd prefer a table for two and got one. The place needs renovating! Worn out wood and run down overall feeling. The food was as good as others suggest. We had signature salmon dish which was delicious but the garlic mashed potatoes were barely warm and halibut which was spectacularly good, Service was acceptable, but our waiter seemed aloof and barely interested in I his job. By comparison we ate at the Primrose in the Rimrock Hotel the following night. Had a window table with astonishing view of mountains, great seafood pasta, enormous dessert to split and the bill was virtually identical (Both places we're about $100 for two with one drink each.) Service at the Rimrock was energetic and warm.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maple Leaf also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Maple Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maple Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.