We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ambiance leaves a lot to be desired.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maple Leaf

The Maple Leaf
137 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
403-760-7680
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Maple Leaf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #8 of 123 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Caribou Street
Fallston, Maryland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ambiance leaves a lot to be desired.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

We were walk ins and were taken upstairs to a dreaded banquette. Said we'd prefer a table for two and got one. The place needs renovating! Worn out wood and run down overall feeling. The food was as good as others suggest. We had signature salmon dish which was delicious but the garlic mashed potatoes were barely warm and halibut which was spectacularly good, Service was acceptable, but our waiter seemed aloof and barely interested in I his job. By comparison we ate at the Primrose in the Rimrock Hotel the following night. Had a window table with astonishing view of mountains, great seafood pasta, enormous dessert to split and the bill was virtually identical (Both places we're about $100 for two with one drink each.) Service at the Rimrock was energetic and warm.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    331
    172
    65
    27
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunham, Quebec
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“A quality restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The Maple Leaf is not the least expensive restaurant in Banff. However, the quality of the food, the excellent friendly service, and the ambience more than justifies the marginally extra expense. We have been going to Banff almost annually for the past 14 years and we always splurge at least once on each trip. We have never been disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Unexpected Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We were staying at the Post Hotel in Lake Louise noted for its awards in fine dining and service, when after a day hiking the Johnston Canyon, we happened upon The Maple Leaf. Conveniently located in Banff, I remembered reading great reviews while preparing for this holiday in the Rockies of Canada. It was early, but they graciously seated us anyway. We were hungry so we started with salads, 2 of us ordered the beef tenderloin, one the duck and last the recommended wild salmon.

For 2 hours we enjoyed course after course and watched the diners arrive in large and small groups soon filling the tables all around us. It was a Monday night in mid September and yet there was a festive feeling and we realized everyone was enjoying this remarkable restaurant and exceptional food as much as we were!~! My daughter actually took a photograph of her husband scraping out the bowl from his "Chef Jimmy Crumble".

We settled into our coffees and after dinner drinks and we all agreed that the meals of perfection we expected at the Post Hotel in Lake Louise did not compare to the exceptionally prepared dining we had just experienced here at The Maple Leaf. We will long remember this meal and evening and thank the staff and chef for this lovely unexpected experience.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maui
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

This is a very good place to have a fine dining meal.We were a very large group and the service and food was outstanding.A great location right on Banff avenue.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best fine dining in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Lots of Gluten free options! Staff are very attentive, well informed & trained!
I usually opt for the wild game choices. The chef blends unique sauces and spices for a mouth watering adventure!
A first class dining experience! Don't miss out!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maple Leaf also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Maple Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maple Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.