We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent downtown restaurant, creative chef” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maple Leaf

The Maple Leaf
137 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
403-760-7680
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Maple Leaf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Caribou Street
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“An excellent downtown restaurant, creative chef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

An excellent restaurant with nicely prepared food from a fixed menu. The salad was fresh and the salmon was nicely seasoned and fresh. We dined in an upstairs private dining room and the service was excellent. A group of about 20 people. I would go back again in a heartbeat.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

703 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    195
    71
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Elegant restaurant with great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

The Maple Leaf is a top-tier restaurant with excellent food and attentive service. It should not be missed!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Truly Canadian ambiance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

We went to banff for our annual convention and chose this restaurant for our Saturday celebration dinner. There was 37 of us and they prepared a back portion of the upstairs for our private event. The service was great. We had 3-4 servers and theycatered to us a lot. The food was from a fixed menu so our choices were limited. However what they did serve was very good. I would have enjoyed wild game choices but maybe next time.
My only complaint was the piped in music. During our presentations we could not hear the speakers because the music was too loud. We asked to have it lowered but it did not happen. Other than that we had a great time and no one complained about anything. Serving 37 people in 1 seating is not an easy feat and they did it well. Congrats!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Go Big or Go Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Treat yourself. Get the Bison Tenderloin and a kick [--] bottle of red. Come here for a wonderful dining experience. The wine list will accommodate ANY budget.

I have frequented the Maple Leaf on many occasions and have never been disappointed with the service and quality of dining experience.

Definitely not the cheapest dining option in Banff but most certainly among the best.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Enjoyable lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stopped in for a late lunch on the way home from the ice carving competitions up at Lake Louise. I had wanted to try this place on previous trips to Banff and was not disappointed. It is a bit pricey, but the food is really good.

My fiance and I split a bison burger and a prime rib donair (we are from the east coast, so we just had to). The bison burger was very nice, topped with blue cheese. We both enjoyed the strong flavour of the cheese with the smokey flavour of the burger. The donair was good. Nothing authentic about it at all, and they claim it had donair sauce on it, but we suspect they are not exactly clear on what donair sauce is... the sauce that was there was kind of tasteless. It also had cheese (unusual for a donair), onions, and tomatoes. We knew not to expect a real donair, though, and the meat was so tasty- very tender. I ordered yam fries and Fiance ordered regular. Both were really good, but I preferred mine, and he seemed to as well since he kept stealing them off my plate. Overall a very nice meal.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maple Leaf also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Maple Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maple Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.