We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Maple Leaf

The Maple Leaf
137 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
403-760-7680
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Maple Leaf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #9 of 127 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Caribou Street
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“Good food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Nine of recently enjoyed dinner at The maple Leaf in Banff. When we arrived, we were shown upstairs to a beautiful log room. We were seated at a round table, which is so much nicer than a long table. We had a cocktail and then ordered our meals. I had artic char, which was outstanding. Several folks ordered Bison and raved about their meal. A couple of folks had NY steaks and said it was good, but a little tough and chewy - go with the Artic Char it was spectacular. Couple of deserts for sharing including crumble which was very good. Serive through out our meal was very attentive.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    381
    194
    71
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Maple Leaf says Canadian, thisplace is more international”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were shown upstairs to a beautiful log-line room. Stephanie our server was very organised also very polite. The food is outstanding, the wine selection good but on the pricey side. A really lovely experience and some of the best food we've eaten for a while.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing food and amazing staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I had dinner here while staying in Banff on September long weekend in 2012. We had our share of great, but typical lunches and dinners and wanted to go somewhere a little fancier.
The food was exquisite and I truly believe our server made it that much better. I sure wish I could remember his name, but he was amazing! He had knowledge of the food and town and he was fun yet professional. He was definitely memorable :) we will be returning to eat here again on our next stay in Banff.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Good Food Good Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We have been coming here for a number of years and have never been disappointed. On this occasion we were seated on a window table upstairs at the far end which I think is one of the best areas. We shared the cheese fondue to start which was excellent but quite filling, to follow my husband had the tenderloin and I had the duck, both dishes were cooked to perfection. No room for dessert! The waiter was friendly and attentive without overdoing it and was knowledgeable about the dishes on the menu. Best to reserve in advance if you want a nice table on a busy night.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Saskatchewan, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Friendly Staff and Great Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The staff was extremely friendly. The Elk special tasted great. Food was in the correct proportions. The waiter offered us more bread.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maple Leaf also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Maple Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maple Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.