We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Maple Leaf

The Maple Leaf
137 Banff Ave., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1C8, Canada
403-760-7680
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
The Maple Leaf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #10 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Caribou Street
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Wonderful Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We dined at The Maple Leaf on our last night in Banff. It was the perfect way to celebrate the end of a great week of skiing! The atmosphere was warm and inviting and the wait staff was very accommodating. We especially enjoyed the menu selection from appetizers, main courses to desserts. (The wine menu was excellent too!) Since we were visiting from Virginia, we especially enjoyed the local fare. The bison filet was amazing. Even though I usually pass on dessert, I'm glad I saved room for the maple walnut ice cream.

If you're in Banff and want a memorable dinner, The Maple Leaf is a great choice!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

704 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    384
    196
    71
    31
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Canadian cuisine? Not!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

Called ahead and spoke with the manager who told us the meat and cheese platter was incredible after we inquired about it. We were extremely dissapointed. It was pre-sliced and had clearly been sitting in the fridge for an extended period of time. There was a crust on the cheese and the plate was cold to the touch, yet when we told our server she denied that it had been in the fridge and insisted everything was sliced to order. We were given three different types of cheese which were each about the size of sugar cube. The plate was not worth $30 and was insulting to Canadian cuisine. We continued on to their sister restaurant, The Bison, and were more than impressed with what they had to offer. It obviously wasn't the first time this had happened as the staff seemed used to hearing this about the Maple Leaf.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

We went here over family day weekend and everything was to die for!! The cocktails were amazing, the scallops were perfect and entrees were cooked to perfection!! Dessert was great as well! Attentive server, very polite. Thoroughly enjoyed our meal!!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Excellent Canadian Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Although a bit on the pricey side, the food here is good and the atmosphere is warm. There is an excellent wine menu.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem for breakfast and lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

Been here for dinner in the past and it was excellent, but price wise, was on the steeper end. But for breakfast and lunch, the prices are very reasonable and the food is still amazing. Service is impeccable as well, overall just simply awesome. Thanks for everything, we'll be back!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Maple Leaf also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to The Maple Leaf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Maple Leaf, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.