We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“60 mins wait but a good meal at the end thankfully!!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Masala

Masala
229 Bear St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-760-6612
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #57 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
265 reviews 265 reviews
99 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“60 mins wait but a good meal at the end thankfully!!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

We went despite reading the negative reviews since this is the only Indian restaurant from Jasper to Banff. The ambiance was quite nice and the server extremely friendly and polite. He gave us water right away and we ordered immediately as it was 7 PM. The restaurant was reasonably full which is always a good sign. We were in no rush so waited in a very relaxed manner. After 30 minutes I started getting restless as I saw people who had arrived with us or after us being served before us. After 40 mins I asked another server if we were going to get our food. We were told it was on thw way..50 mins..you are next..55 mins..sorry madam it is coming..finally it arrived almost exactly an hour later! At this point I was quite irritated and worried about the quality of the food when it finally arrived.

Fortunately, everything that we ordered was hot and delicious. The aloo gobi and makhani dal were good and so was the chicken tikka masala. The naan was light and the raita was tasty. The basmati rice was a bit on the dry side but we enjoyed the dinner.

Based on this visit, I would go again mentally prepared to wait an hour only if one is desperate to eat Indian food in the rockies. I had to go as my mother and aunt who are vegetarians had not had any good food for 5 days.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    70
    26
    15
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“40 minutes for dal?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Not only did I wait 40 minutes for take out, but it was the most oily, most unusual dal I have ever seen. Absolutely not worth the $20, though the garlic naan was quite good. Give it a miss.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife and I visited the restaurant on the 6th of July. While we waited for a few minutes, I was impressed with all the waiters at the restaurant stopping by and checking with us until a table was ready after a 10 minute wait.

Our waiter, Shobaan, was excellent. He even recommended based on our order to wait on ordering a side course as it would be too much for the both of us. Sure enough he was right.

Every waiter at the restaurant was pleasant and courteous. Very impressed with their service.

Recommendation for Masala: Considering the quality of the restaurant, I'd recommend to use cloth napkins or even good quality paper napkins as opposed to cheap paper napkins.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludhiana, India
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family Holiday in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Great place to have authentic,very tasty Indian food buffet.Service is quick though you may have to wait for some time to find a table but its worth the wait.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Suburbs, Illinois
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly and attentive service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

We really enjoyed our experience - the delicious food, the atmosphere and the friendly service. The menu was quite large, and we were surprised to see beef and buffalo. We asked for our food to be medium spicy and it was perfect. If you like Indian food, you can't go wrong by eating here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.