We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will absolutely go back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masala

Masala
229 Bear St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-760-6612
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 127 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Saskatoon, Canada
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Will absolutely go back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The food was wonderful, the servers were very nice and professional, the wait time was not too long. Overall everything was great - although the atmosphere left a little to be desired (the table cloths were stained and the music was loud).

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    68
    26
    15
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Tobermory, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Outstanding Indian Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I liked Masala so much I went there three times in the week I was visiting Banff. Service was friendly although a little slow on a Sunday night when it was crowded. I have spent time in India and this food was better!

I will return whenever I'm in Banff.

Bill CB

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rimbey, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Visited several times and never disappointed, had a take away this time and it was superb and I didn't have to wait too long either, if you like Indain food I would highly recommended a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Favourite Indian Food in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I love the Rogan Josh at this restaurant. I dream of it, I crave it, it has become an addiction....

We go here fairly often. I have tried other menu items and they are delicious, but I always want the Rogan Josh! I've had it with beef or lamb.
The portion sizes at this establishment are more than adequate. We always end up taking leftovers home for lunch the next day.
The service has always been good when I'm there, so I have no complaints what so ever! I have never eaten anything here that I didn't like or wouldn't order again.

We like how there are different levels of "hotness" for each dish, so if someone likes it mild and someone else like the same dish hot they can be accommodated!

I give this restaurant 2 thumbs up for sure!
:0)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The food is fantastic, so many delicious flavours.
Probably the friendliest service I have ever experienced.
I will be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.