We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Masala

Masala
229 Bear St., Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-760-6612
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Rimbey, Alberta, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012 via mobile

Visited several times and never disappointed, had a take away this time and it was superb and I didn't have to wait too long either, if you like Indain food I would highly recommended a visit.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    101
    78
    27
    16
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Favourite Indian Food in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I love the Rogan Josh at this restaurant. I dream of it, I crave it, it has become an addiction....

We go here fairly often. I have tried other menu items and they are delicious, but I always want the Rogan Josh! I've had it with beef or lamb.
The portion sizes at this establishment are more than adequate. We always end up taking leftovers home for lunch the next day.
The service has always been good when I'm there, so I have no complaints what so ever! I have never eaten anything here that I didn't like or wouldn't order again.

We like how there are different levels of "hotness" for each dish, so if someone likes it mild and someone else like the same dish hot they can be accommodated!

I give this restaurant 2 thumbs up for sure!
:0)

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Delightful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

The food is fantastic, so many delicious flavours.
Probably the friendliest service I have ever experienced.
I will be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Best Curry in The Rockies!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Arrived in Banff & saw by chance the Masala as we drove in. We LOVE a good curry, my husband would eat it for breakfast, lunch & dinner given the chance, but it has to very spicy but still tasty.
The food was exceptional - not the hottest curries in the world, but so good we forgive them. How good? Well we re-routed back to Vancouver to just have another meal here & it was as good as the last, especially with the extra chillies on the side!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Yummy! Spicy goodness”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We were in Banff in the off season and decided to try this restaurant. We were the only ones besides one other couple. The waiter was super nice and helpful to answer our questions about the dishes. The non-vegetarian platter was wonderful and the menthi chicken with garlic naan was slimply delightful. We left stuffed and would go back again. We saw a few people (appeared to be locals) come in for pick up orders.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Masala also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Masala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Masala, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.