We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sushi House Banff - Train cars carry the sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi House Banff

Sushi House Banff
304 Caribou St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
(403) 762-4353
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 133 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Sushi House Banff - Train cars carry the sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We stopped in for lunch. Its a small square bar with a train that goes around and you pick what you want off the train cars and eat it at the bar. Nice to see the food before you decide. Food was good. The plates are colored so you tell the price off the menu. Our lunch for 2 was 24 bucks, we were in and out really fast, I think we ate 5-6 dishes with no drinks.
The place is a dated and far from trendy, but we will probably be back, it was a quick and easy lunch we both enjoyed. Took a while to pay the bill, the cashier lady was nowhere to be found.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    58
    13
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Sushi anyone ?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Best sushi in town. Made right in front of you. Small place but unforgettable:) all dishes travel around on the train so it's convenient to grab them as they come. Also chef is always ready to take your order if what you like is not on the train at the moment. Must see!!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fresh sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Go around sushi, be smart, pick the fresh one, not the one sit there for hours.
Fresh & tasty. Small restaurant.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“sushi lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Love the continuous supply of sushi on the train. The sushi chefs refill the train while you eat and you can order whatever you don't see. Order the yam roll off the board. It's not on the train so it's always fresh and hot.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unexpectedly Good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Japanese fast food. All food delivered by motorized train. Quality for the sushi was great. Priced by plate color. You pay for what you eat/take off the train. Would go back.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi House Banff also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sushi House Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi House Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.