We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi House Banff

Sushi House Banff
304 Caribou St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
(403) 762-4353
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 127 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Banff, Canada
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2014

I loved cucumber avocado roll and fried shrimp. Love that plates are on moving train. You can always feel free to order more than you see there. Service is excellent.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    46
    10
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Choo Choo Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I've eaten here. A lot. I've eaten raw stuff and cooked stuff. Drank beer and saki and lots of cola drinks, mostly cold. And a tsunami worth of tea, though I think it might have had a shell in it last time.

The Good: I like the beans, and the salt on them. I like all of the food, just not those weird eggy packets of sweet rice that kids seem to eat all the time. I don't get that. Kids can eat adult food. Eat the spicy Tuna. Eat the Tempura. Don't ask for Shabu Shabu, they don't have it.

The Bad: I told you: those weird eggy packets of sweet rice that kids seem to eat all the time. I don't get that.

The Ugly: nothing's ugly.

The Skinny: I like this place, I like the people and the service. I don't really like the guy at the end of the bar (probably a real estate agent or a cattle rustler) trying to impress everyone with his knowledge of Mexico ("Hey Pal, EVERYONE has been to Mexico).
Great Value.
Very, very fresh food.
Lines are quick and worth waiting in.
Always a smile from the chef and the hostess.
Price is decent for Banff standards and one of the best sushi places in that fair town.

For fun, speak like a burnt-out snowboarder while you're there. You look cool and kind of dim at the same time.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good surprise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

I highly recommend this place if your looking for good sushis. The fish was really fresh and the rice well cooked. The atmosphere is friendly and cosy. The chef prepares the sushis in front of you which is very entertaining, plus, the plates are displayed on an actual little train which just adds some fun to the experience.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice People Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

We really enjoy coming here to eat. Food is good and the train brings around food continuously. You can have a quick meal or take your time. Not a lot of seats so you might have to wait when it gets busy but the sushi is worth it. You can get out of hand with so many dishes gliding by which could amount to a large bill so some may need to pay attention to this as well. No complaints.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Really good Sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

If you like Sushi you really must try this little place. Its only small and gets really busy so try to go early. We ate lunch there and arrived at 11.30am and the place was already nearly full. The chap makes the sushi up in front of you and drops onto the little train which takes it around the table.

Food was amazing - very, very fresh and tasty. And wasn't that expensive for Banff either. If like us you've had enough of burgers and fries then you really should give this a go. Great little place.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi House Banff also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sushi House Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi House Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.