We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun eats, good place for solo dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi House Banff

Sushi House Banff
304 Caribou St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
(403) 762-4353
Improve this listing
Ranked #37 of 129 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Takeout
Nanaimo, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Fun eats, good place for solo dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The bar seating and sushi train makes for an entertaining meal if you're rocking the solo dining. I brought a magazine expecting tables but ended up sitting around the bar and watching the sushi being prepared. Lots of other solo diners. Good value and decent food. I'm a bit of an anti-tv while eating kind of girl so I could have done without it being on the wall but it seems everywhere has them these days. Staff are super friendly and it was an easy place to eat by yourself.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    52
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock, NB
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fresh! Friendly! Delicious! A must when you visit Banff! Sometimes there's a bit of a wait to get in, but never too long and it's always worth it! Service is quick and friendly; they always ask you if everything is ok and make sushi to order.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fresh sashimi- i highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I went on a sunday night for dinner, after an unpleasant lunch of japanese at another restraurant in Banff, i was hoping for redemption and Sushi house did in fact give me it. I had gyoza, tuna nigiri, tuna tartar, fried octopus, sashimi of macheral, yellow fin, red tuna and snapper, all served on a sweet sushi train, my total bill including a beer was $47 & i was filled to the brim. The fish was so fresh! I have no compaints, limited seating so you may have to wait for a seat, but it is worth it.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Great find, worth a wait.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This tiny restaurant just off Banff Av is a great place to enjoy fresh sushi made just how you like it. Inside is organised in a horseshoe shape around a table with a train carrying the sushi. If you can't see what you want, just ask. It's made right in front of you. If the seats are all full, huddle inside the door, it'll be worth the wait.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi, and a fun experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

This is a tiny restaurant with a U shaped table where diners sit next to each other. In the centre of the U are the Sushi Chefs and around the U a train travels continuosly with its load of Sushi dishes on board......you take the dishes you want of the flat cars and the Chefs add new delights constantly....and if what you want is not there they will make it to order for you. Great service, really friendly staff and absolutely delicious sushi at good prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi House Banff also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sushi House Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sushi House Banff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.