We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun eats, good place for solo dining” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sushi House Banff

Sushi House Banff
304 Caribou St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
(403) 762-4353
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 131 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fun eats, good place for solo dining”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

The bar seating and sushi train makes for an entertaining meal if you're rocking the solo dining. I brought a magazine expecting tables but ended up sitting around the bar and watching the sushi being prepared. Lots of other solo diners. Good value and decent food. I'm a bit of an anti-tv while eating kind of girl so I could have done without it being on the wall but it seems everywhere has them these days. Staff are super friendly and it was an easy place to eat by yourself.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Woodstock, NB
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great every time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Fresh! Friendly! Delicious! A must when you visit Banff! Sometimes there's a bit of a wait to get in, but never too long and it's always worth it! Service is quick and friendly; they always ask you if everything is ok and make sushi to order.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NBShortie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fresh sashimi- i highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013 via mobile

I went on a sunday night for dinner, after an unpleasant lunch of japanese at another restraurant in Banff, i was hoping for redemption and Sushi house did in fact give me it. I had gyoza, tuna nigiri, tuna tartar, fried octopus, sashimi of macheral, yellow fin, red tuna and snapper, all served on a sweet sushi train, my total bill including a beer was $47 & i was filled to the brim. The fish was so fresh! I have no compaints, limited seating so you may have to wait for a seat, but it is worth it.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Vyness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
92 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Great find, worth a wait.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

This tiny restaurant just off Banff Av is a great place to enjoy fresh sushi made just how you like it. Inside is organised in a horseshoe shape around a table with a train carrying the sushi. If you can't see what you want, just ask. It's made right in front of you. If the seats are all full, huddle inside the door, it'll be worth the wait.

Helpful?
1 Thank NaughtyPP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Level Contributor
142 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Delicious Sushi, and a fun experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

This is a tiny restaurant with a U shaped table where diners sit next to each other. In the centre of the U are the Sushi Chefs and around the U a train travels continuosly with its load of Sushi dishes on board......you take the dishes you want of the flat cars and the Chefs add new delights constantly....and if what you want is not there they will make it to order for you. Great service, really friendly staff and absolutely delicious sushi at good prices.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sushi House Banff also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Sushi House Banff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing