We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suginoya Restaurant

Suginoya Restaurant
225 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-4773
Update restaurant details
Ranked #69 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Vancouver, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Yummy.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Stumbled upon this location as I was looking for a place to eat during my stay in Banff.

At first, I thought this was just an average Japanese location with average quality food. Turns out I was wrong.

Don't let the restaurant atmosphere deter you. The restaurant is a bit old from the inside, but the food was excellent, and service wasn't bad either.

Yummmy. Would come back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    15
    25
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had dinner at Suginoya and I highly recommend their pork cutlet (tonkatsu) the best I have yet tasted, Canadian steak teriyaki style (pricey but yummy), toss salad, miso soup, shrimp tempura and other dishes eaten family style if you have a group of about 4 or more people. This way you can get a taste of an assortment of dishes. The house dressing on the green salad was a delicious ginger miso type, very good. Also don't forget to ask for green tea, great if you are coming in from the cold. Affordable but yet delicious, not a five star ambiance but food was so comforting after a chilly visit to the mountains in the gondola. The service was attentive, would eat here again if in the area. The lunch bento box is a great bargain but we didn't have a chance to go during lunch.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Best Japanese in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is the best Japanese food in Alberta, it is a gem in the mountains.
The service was excellent as was the food. Located right on Banff Avenue.
The rolls was nice and the sushi and sashimi was outstanding.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

The best by far food in banff. Very clean and fast service. We ate at lunch time and had the lunch box, super cheap and excellent fresh food

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good for a budget lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Suginoya restaurant in located on the second floor of a building with not much natural light. It's a budget restaurant.
We went for lunch and had the lunch special.
- miso soup, tasted OK
- Bento box with salad, rice, some pickles, teriaki chicken, and tempura:
- Salad was fresh
- Rice was good, had some poppy seeds on top of it, nice!
- Teriaki chicken was more of a fried breaded chicken with maybe a hint of teriaki sauce. Nothing like any other Japanese teriaki chickens we ever had before. This was more an American style fried chicken with a Japanese twist. Tasted OK.
- Tempura was good, except that the shrimp didn't taste so good to me.
- Wife had breaded shrimp instead of tempura, and I tasted it. That shrimp also didn't taste so good to me.
- We purchased tea, came in a large pot. It tasted good.
- Price very reasonable

This restaurant is good for lunch on a budget, but of course you get what you paid for. Taste is average at best.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suginoya Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Suginoya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suginoya Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.