We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had a great meal and enjoyed every bite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suginoya Restaurant

Suginoya Restaurant
225 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-4773
Improve this listing
Ranked #73 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Japanese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Had a great meal and enjoyed every bite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

This restaurant is tucked away in the second floor on the main drag of Banff. We had 2 kids (with a stroller) - note - we couldn't find an elevator - so we had to carry everything up the flight of steep stairs. The restaurant looks plain and simple - dated decor---but we came for dinner with the family not a romantic dinner with the just the two of us. We were seated and handed hot towels to freshen up straight away (nice touch). The menu is average - the food came out extremely fast - which was great because our kids love sushi and they were hungry. The restaurant clientele were mostly Japanese (we took that as a very good sign!). Didn't go in the bathroom, but the restaurant was clean. Prices were average - we very much enjoyed our dinner and would go there again when in Banff. We went at 6 saturday night and the restaurant was almost empty, and by 6:15 there was a line up. They have high chairs and kid friendly cutlery and plates.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

75% Recommend
    15
    25
    8
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great sushi”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stopped in for lunch after the Gran Fondo on a friends recommendation, and we were pleasantly surprised at the huge variety of Japanese food offered. Might I add that it is encouraging to hear the chefs and waiters speak in Japanese - it reassures that they know how to make the food properly. Great unagi

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“Maybe I just went when regular chef was away?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

I went there two sundays in a row, first one for lunch, second one for dinner. A couple of items were done poorly the first time, the second time food was a bit better but the server had a significant language barrier. We gave it a second chance as we went with friends who chose it.

Yes, this place attracts lots of Japanese clients, so having a Japanese speaking server is essential, but management should have assigned us a server that can communicate adequately in english and have ours look after Japanese speaking customers ( clearly there were many Japanese customers ) We do recognize a server from before who spoke very good english, but alas we were not in her section. Perhaps management can be flexible in assigning tables, take into account the ability of the server to interact with customers.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oshawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

We actually stumbled upon this restaurant when another sushi place in Banff said we would have to wait 45 minutes for our food (not a table, just the food after we order it!)! Anyway, this place is good. Not the nicest inside but the food was awesome! I found the menu a little confusing but when we worked it out and ordered, the food came fast!

Our server was great and I would go back here again!

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Real japanese!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

..was a good surprise to see actually Japanese people work in Japanese restaurant:) We got a few different sushi and sashimi- all was tasty and served quickly. They have a wide selection of fish to start with. Even wasabi tasted like freshly-made- that strong! Great value.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suginoya Restaurant also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park

Been to Suginoya Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suginoya Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.