We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Irish pub!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Gate Irish Pub

St. James Gate Irish Pub
205 Wolf St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L, Canada
403-762-9355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Parksville, Canada
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely Irish pub!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We discovered this lovely Irish pub when we were trying to find somewhere warm we can go for our cocktail hours. We glanced this Irish pub off the mainstreet and we were glad that we give it a try. The theme is authentic, the price of drink is reasonable and service is good. We did not have meals but we enjoy every minute of it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

573 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    262
    213
    63
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Tasty meal and good beer choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

There is an extensive choice of beers here and we enjoyed a couple with our meal. The food was plentiful and tasty and the service was pleasant and efficient. Quite a busy place with a nice atmosphere.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Charming and warm pub atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Saturday, November 2, 2013
Lunch
We were in town for my friend’s 40th birthday. We were all in good spirits and looking forward to a good Irish Pub Fair for lunch. This pub did not disappoint. It had the great homey ambience that you expect from an Irish Pub. It would be perfect for lunch or dinner.
Our server was excellent. She didn’t miss a beat and took every one of our needs to heart. She had no trouble even when I asked that we split the bills and add a portion of the birthday girl’s to each of the rest of the attendees.
The food was good. We had a Whiskey Chicken, 1 sirloin boxty, 2 seafood boxties and 2 fish & chips. The average cost of a lunch entrée was about $15.
I believe each and every one of our party of 6 would happily go to this restaurant again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Missouri
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We had a nice meal and drink here during our vacation in August. It was very busy so we sat at the bar. We had a nice visit with a couple from Austria seated next to us. The food was prepared well and tasty.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Popped in for afternoon drinks and a bite to eat. Service was painfully slow. Pub was no where near busy. Took ages to get a drink that we didn't bother to hang around to order food or another drink. Took just as long to get the check. Definitely not the positive experience that I have had in the past.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. James Gate Irish Pub also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to St. James Gate Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Gate Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.