We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic feel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Gate Irish Pub

St. James Gate Irish Pub
205 Wolf St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L, Canada
403-762-9355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Authentic feel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Love the atmosphere in this place, feels like a true UK pub. From the music to the decor to the food. Could use more floor staff, well looked after, but our server was definitely on the back foot the whole time.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    191
    57
    20
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
CANADA
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Very Enjoyable Dinner!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We were given a table for 2 and we each thoroughly enjoyed our meal. Our server was very busy and a tad overworked. She was very helpful and friendly. We loved the music and it was easy to imagine we were in Ireland. We would definitely return.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Irish charm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

The service was friendly, definitely a plus. The place itself was warm and cosy, exactly what we were looking for after a refreshing day of mountain exploration. There was plenty to chose from the menu, prices were reasonable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great Pub Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Popular place,friendly staff, good crowd, lots of beer choices and Great food! Can't go wrong! Traveling solo so it was a fun place to go take a seat at the bar

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Great pub food with some unexpected choices, Yorkies definitely worth a try. Very good fish and chips also some of very best wings I have ever eaten.
Very good atmosphere and great service.
We went back for supper on our second night in Banff

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. James Gate Irish Pub also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to St. James Gate Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Gate Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.