We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Breakfast” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub

Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub
207 Wolf Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L, Canada
14037629355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 132 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Quick Bites, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our Story Begins in Ireland Located in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, St. James's Gate, established in 1996, was built and manufactured in Dublin, Ireland. The authenticity of the imported Irish woodwork and fantastic artifacts make St. James Gate one of the premier Irish Pubs in the world. The Gate has a warm friendly atmosphere that makes you feel instantly at home. Rub shoulders with local residents and tourists from around the world. The bartenders are friendly and prepare the drinks with care and consideration and the staff proves just what a capable & fun group of servers is worth. It's everything an Irish Pub should be.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Never thought I would have breakfast at an Irish Pub but I had read reviews and decided to try it. Arrived around 9-9:30 am, it was pretty quiet inside and kind of dark like a pub. Service was courteous and timely. The pub has a decent breakfast menu with several options. I had eggs benedict and it was excellent. The place seems old and in need of updating but come to find out the interior parts of this pub were actually brough over from Ireland! Very cool place to see, would definitely go back.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    336
    264
    79
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“What a find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This up was built in Ireland, dismantled, shipped to Banff and reconstructed. It has beautiful features with a simple menu, simple food cooked t perfection. The staff were very pleasant and helpful

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilton Head, South Carolina
Level Contributor
55 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Fun place, great food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We went to St. James the first day in Banff and keep going back because we just feel at home here! Great, reasonably priced place to chill. The bartenders are attentive and friendly and it seems that everyone who comes in is just "easy". Good selection of beers and wine. Soups are wonderful and there are some creative Irish dishes on the menu too. Can't miss with this place .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer
Level Contributor
135 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Always Dependable and Kid Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

It has been a few years since we visited St. James Gate and I am pleased to report it's as good as ever. The menu is excellent and inventive (no small feat when it comes to pub grub). Even though it was Friday, we were seated quickly and the food arrived just as quickly. We particularly enjoyed the lamb stew, seafood boxty and the warm gingerbread dessert. We will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
217 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Music and a Caring Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

Fun place for dinner. The live music was fine, although the venue is not really set up well for it. On a crowded evening we had to wait 15 minutes (went strolling, but returned to a choice table near the fireplace. The food was a step above for a pub, and the atmosphere made for an enjoyable evening.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.