We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Gate Irish Pub

St. James Gate Irish Pub
205 Wolf St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L, Canada
403-762-9355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 133 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Have eaten at this pub several times before and it always offers good value for money and avery good atmosphere. Staff are very friendly and seem to enjoy their job and are very good at recommending things from the menu. The nighty specials are especially good.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

708 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    328
    260
    78
    24
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlock, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“loved it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Whenever in Banff we try to pick a different place to eat each time. This is definitely going on our favorite list. There was a group of 5 of us, we each got something different, and loved our meals. Atmosphere was great. Request a table by the fire place in the back corner, you will not be disappointed.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“spring 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

took a day off the hill and had lunch, what a pleasant surprise, it is a bit dark in some corners of the bar but there is a roaring fire as well as tv screens to catch up with the latest sport results. the food was much better than the usual pub grub the service was very good and there is a good selection of beers and wine. far better than your average irish bar. it is open for lunch right through until late and the food is very reasonably priced.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“What an Atmosphere!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

this place was hoppin!! we brought a group of 20, and that wasn't enough... we had some of those of the side join our party and have a great time.

Relaxed, great service, ok food, and i heard the ale was great (i don't drink).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cowtown
Level Contributor
44 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Worth waiting for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Great food and beer. Busy Friday and Saturday nights but worth waiting for a table. Try the calamari and the Guinness crab and asparagus soup.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. James Gate Irish Pub also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to St. James Gate Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Gate Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.