We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Atmosphere!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of St. James Gate Irish Pub

St. James Gate Irish Pub
205 Wolf St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L, Canada
403-762-9355
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #18 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Cuisines: Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“What an Atmosphere!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

this place was hoppin!! we brought a group of 20, and that wasn't enough... we had some of those of the side join our party and have a great time.

Relaxed, great service, ok food, and i heard the ale was great (i don't drink).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    201
    153
    43
    20
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cowtown
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Worth waiting for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Great food and beer. Busy Friday and Saturday nights but worth waiting for a table. Try the calamari and the Guinness crab and asparagus soup.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were vacationing in Banff and the St James Gate Irish Pub was suggested to us for a place to go out to eat. As we entered the restaurant the girls were very friendly and told us it would be a 20-30 minute wait but with great luck we had only waited 10 minutes for a table. The server was very friendly and helpful with menu selections. The food we ordered was listed under the Irish selections and it was all very good. It was nice relaxed atmosphere and a place you can have alot of fun. Would definitely go back when in Banff, Alberta again. Thanks

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Pub food done right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

When traveling, its nice to have options, which is what this place offers. The staff was prompt and helpful. The food was well prepared and tasty. The Whisky Chicken is what keeps my sister coming back. I enjoy the Pulled Pork sandwich which has, among other things, coleslaw on it(not on the side, although I'm sure they would do that if you asked). The place often has live music which I always find adds to the experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“So So.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Meh. It was OK. Wasn't anything fantastic. Took a lot of effort to get the servers attention. Food was pretty bland. However I love the layout of the restaurant. Wish it had been a better experience as I heard good things about this place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed St. James Gate Irish Pub also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to St. James Gate Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage St. James Gate Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.