We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What an Atmosphere!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub

Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub
207 Wolf Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L, Canada
14037629355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 132 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: Bar, Irish, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Quick Bites, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our Story Begins in Ireland Located in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, St. James's Gate, established in 1996, was built and manufactured in Dublin, Ireland. The authenticity of the imported Irish woodwork and fantastic artifacts make St. James Gate one of the premier Irish Pubs in the world. The Gate has a warm friendly atmosphere that makes you feel instantly at home. Rub shoulders with local residents and tourists from around the world. The bartenders are friendly and prepare the drinks with care and consideration and the staff proves just what a capable & fun group of servers is worth. It's everything an Irish Pub should be.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“What an Atmosphere!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

this place was hoppin!! we brought a group of 20, and that wasn't enough... we had some of those of the side join our party and have a great time.

Relaxed, great service, ok food, and i heard the ale was great (i don't drink).

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

725 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    335
    264
    79
    28
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cowtown
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Worth waiting for!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Great food and beer. Busy Friday and Saturday nights but worth waiting for a table. Try the calamari and the Guinness crab and asparagus soup.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Elgin
Level Contributor
129 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great Place to Eat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We were vacationing in Banff and the St James Gate Irish Pub was suggested to us for a place to go out to eat. As we entered the restaurant the girls were very friendly and told us it would be a 20-30 minute wait but with great luck we had only waited 10 minutes for a table. The server was very friendly and helpful with menu selections. The food we ordered was listed under the Irish selections and it was all very good. It was nice relaxed atmosphere and a place you can have alot of fun. Would definitely go back when in Banff, Alberta again. Thanks

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pub food done right”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

When traveling, its nice to have options, which is what this place offers. The staff was prompt and helpful. The food was well prepared and tasty. The Whisky Chicken is what keeps my sister coming back. I enjoy the Pulled Pork sandwich which has, among other things, coleslaw on it(not on the side, although I'm sure they would do that if you asked). The place often has live music which I always find adds to the experience.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“So So.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Meh. It was OK. Wasn't anything fantastic. Took a lot of effort to get the servers attention. Food was pretty bland. However I love the layout of the restaurant. Wish it had been a better experience as I heard good things about this place.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.