We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub food and ambiance!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub

Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub
207 Wolf Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta AB T1L, Canada
14037629355
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 115 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Irish, Pub, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our Story Begins in Ireland Located in the heart of the Rocky Mountains, St. James's Gate, established in 1996, was built and manufactured in Dublin, Ireland. The authenticity of the imported Irish woodwork and fantastic artifacts make St. James Gate one of the premier Irish Pubs in the world. The Gate has a warm friendly atmosphere that makes you feel instantly at home. Rub shoulders with local residents and tourists from around the world. The bartenders are friendly and prepare the drinks with care and consideration and the staff proves just what a capable & fun group of servers is worth. It's everything an Irish Pub should be.
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
369 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“Good pub food and ambiance!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

If you're looking for standard pub fare and atmosphere, you'll enjoy your time here. I had the lamb burger (which was good), but wish I had the lamb shank instead. They have a great selection of beers and whiskies.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wbsAlberta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

800 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leduc, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Food- Huge Portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Excellent service. Laid back atmosphere.
Food portions were very large and very tasty.
Would definitely go back.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
84 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Its a bit of a mock Irish pub, but don't let that you put you off. Really good pub grub, and some excellent beer, made for a good night out

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MarkyMark1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
red deer
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dirty.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We travel to banff very often throughout the winter to snowboard since we do not live to far away and try to eat at different places each time. There is alot of variety in Banff! I have eaten here once in the past and thought it was OK but the service was lacking.
This time around the service was awesome! I was however very disgusted with the conditions of the washrooms. There were 2 toilets plugged, water all over the floor and gross wet and dirty toilet paper all over the floor and piles of paper towel for some reason in one of the 2 toilet stolls left working, No toilet paper left in one of the two working toilets. It was a sick mess. I have seen nightclubs at 130 AM cleaner than this. I went and let the staff know how gross the room was. When I went back to use the washroom again all that was done was an out of order sign put on one of the non working toilets and nothing cleaned?
I dont know about you but I feel very uncomfortable eating in an establishment that cannot even keep their bathroom clean for their guests and it really makes me wonder what the kitchen looks like??

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jolene138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Acceptably mock Irish”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Doesn't go too overboard on the Irishness. Interesting selction of mirrors and signs. Whisky astonishngly expensive!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank georgeupstairs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saintt James's Gate Olde Irish Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing