We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service DOES exist in Banff!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
221 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-2467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
1 review
“Great service DOES exist in Banff!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

Last week,my wife and I were looking for a casual lunch spot with a patio.We had a very enjoyable experience and wanted to take a moment to thank our kind server Leroy!
He was very knowledgeable & made our day-trip to Banff quite enjoyable! Not only was he able to answer our questions about the menu,but he was kind enough to share with us, his personal "favourite" trail...which we had a blast hiking!
Thank you Leroy for going the extra mile & pointing us in the right direction,we will be back to see you soon!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, Guest Relations Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Leroy will be so pleased with this review. Thank you so much for taking the time to write it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    207
    126
    52
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Best Striploin and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our hotel Concierge recomended that we make the Saltlik a dinner choice on our weekend in Banff. We stopped in on a Sunday evening and were greeted first by a couple of mangers at the steps outside. Both gentlemen were friendly in explaining the menu and mentioed there was a open table on the patio upstairs.
We were sat by a hostess who gave us a explanation of the menu. Our server promtly arrived at the table to greet us with a warm friendly welcome. We asked some questions about the menu and Nour lead us to try the Caliornia Cut New York Striploin with blue cheese sauce.

We started off with a shared house salad, refreshing and light dressing.

The steaks arrived and WOW thick and juicy is a understaement. They use a infrared oven to sear the flaour in and both were cooked to Medium perfection. Sides are shared and ample in servings. The fries had seasoning that made us not even use the ketchup to enjoy these crisp wonders.

One of the managers from out front stopped by to as how everything was. He metioned we should try their apple pie dessert. Too full from the portions we decided we would stop again before the end of our vacation. He mentioned we should try their burger that won a recent TV show that was filmed in Banff.

Fabulous views of Mount Rundle from the patio, great food and dedicated staff made for a enjoyable evening.

Live it, Love it, Lik it !!! Their slogan printed on the wall as you walk down the stairs.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, Guest Relations Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
So glad you enjoyed your meal and service. Always a so nice to read reviews like this one. Hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Poor customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

They may have the best burger in Banff, but the worst customer service. Didn't even had the chance to try the food because the server was not welcoming at all. We decided to leave the table. Been dining out all over the world and this was our first rude encounter.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saltlikbanff, Guest Relations Manager at Saltlik, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
So sorry to hear about your service. Hope you choose to give us a second chance so we can give you a much better attitude and experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jasper, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best Experience Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We visited the Saltlik steak house based on a recommendation of a local. We asked for a recommendation of the best place for seafood.
Reluctant of her recommendation of the steak house for fish we went in and were sat promptly by a team of hostesses who quickly pointed out the "catch" of the day, a tempting halibut.

Our server who introduced himself as Nour arrived within seconds with two cool blue tinted ice waters, he offered us their signature steak house ceaser as a way to start off the night.
Upon asking his advise for fish he quickly informed us the calamari is their signature starter, generous serving of pineapple cut tubes, wok fried with peppers.
We went for his suggestion of the calamari to start as a shared item and one "catch halibut and a salmon. A side of grilled asparagus and a scrumptious scallop potatoes that Nour mentioned was the dish that people always return for!

Fantastic recommendation for dinner, glad to have asked a local for this advice.

An evening to be remembered and the best service we experienced in our visit to banff

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious food, Fabulous service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

Went to Saltlik because we wanted to try Alberta steak while in the Rockies, & the prices were good. The restaurant is upscale casual, and we sat upstairs where many menu items are sold a la carte. The highlight of our visit was definitely our server Urel (aka Leroy), who made our dining experience memorable and whose recommendations were spot on. The ribeye was huge, and cooked perfectly medium rare as requested! My husband & I split the steak and got the house salad with the garlic butter broccoli and rosemary mushrooms. All were delicious, and it was more than enough food to stuff us both. We would definitely come back when we are in Banff again!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltlik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.