We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“went oon the reccomendation of our bar man” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
221 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-2467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
London
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“went oon the reccomendation of our bar man”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went here one night on the reccomendation of our barman and were not dissapointed ... I have to say I enjoyed my steak and they are very big. We got a 1 side order of mini chips and one order of brocolli which concidering the size of the steak was loads. Wine in Canada can work out very dear but we ordered a bottle of local red wine which was nice The Waiter Mr Dunbar was really nice and friendly and filled us in on some local attractions. All in all the foood was very good I am not sure what the haters expect more from a humble steak but I have had many and this establishment's one was as good as any other place I have visited. There was a good buzz in the place and it is nicely decorated. Again like most places in North America the portions are huge so Europeans beware how much you order !!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    148
    61
    34
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Helier, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We eat regularly at Saltlik on our trips. The steaks are legendary and huge. Downstairs offers a good, mixed menu and became our favourite place for this last trip.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not much of a value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Touted by many as one of the best steakhouses in Banff... we were expecting much more. Service was adequate, but the food was, as the rating indicates, just average. Like many places in Canada, the menu was a la carte...and that always boosts the check price into the, "was it really worth it.." category.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A little over rated, or should I say alot!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

First thing I don't like dining in places where the servers think they are better than the customers. Secondly the restaurant was over priced considering the food was so-so. I think there are better options in Banff for Steak like Toro's or Melissa's( much better value).

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edmonton
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Not quite what I remembered but still satisfying”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

I had visited this restaurant in 2007 and to this day, still dream about the dry ribs I had there...upon returning to banff this spring it was decided I MUST eat here. My mother had steak and I the ribs, our sides were brocolli and scalloped potatoes(a personal favorite) my ribs were, by far, the best ribs id ever eaten-you should try them! everything was sooo tasty and flavourful, my only complain would have been the sides being too small. Over all it was enjoyable and we will be back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltlik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.