We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A La Carte Restaurant is good for a posh meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
221 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-2467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A La Carte Restaurant is good for a posh meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

There aren't many posh places to eat in Banff, so we were pleased to celebrate our anniversary with a trip to Saltlik.

There are two parts to Saltlik - the sports bar downstairs and the a la carte restaurant upstairs. Some of the food is available in both, but for the "finer dining", go upstairs.

It's a busy place, and there are no end of tarty dressed staff to look after you. We had one at the front door, one at the top of the stairs, one to take our coats, one to explain the menu, one to take our order and one to serve our food.

The carpaccio was very nice, and the fillet steaks were perfectly cooked to our requests. The apple crumble was the star though, and we had thought ahead far enough to share that, as all portions are massive.

Lots of kids around, so clearly it's a friendly place with a lot of choice for all the family.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    201
    126
    52
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Menu had a great variety of foods from lamb sausage linguini to a BBQ sandwich with chipotle mayo to steaks! It was pretty busy and self-seating on the ground floor so took a while to get a seat but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food & good portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food at the Saltlik was really good. The way they serve it a little interesting. You order your main and then your order your side which is shared by the entire table. This worked out really well for our family but I am not sure if it would be ideal if it were just two people.

Overall though I would definitely go back.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Best steak in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended by the front desk at our hotel, the food is fantastic with good service and an excellent selection of wines and beers. Be prepared to part with your hard earned cash as its a bit pricey. This was by far the most expensive restaurant in Banff we ate at. Well work a visit as a holiday treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Arrogant waiter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Food was very good but the waiter was a little too quick at removing the dishes before finishing the meal. Arrogant male waiter! Everything else was very nice,

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltlik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.