We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A La Carte Restaurant is good for a posh meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
221 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
+1 403-762-2467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 131 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $36
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Grill, Wine Bar, Canadian, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Business meetings, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A La Carte Restaurant is good for a posh meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

There aren't many posh places to eat in Banff, so we were pleased to celebrate our anniversary with a trip to Saltlik.

There are two parts to Saltlik - the sports bar downstairs and the a la carte restaurant upstairs. Some of the food is available in both, but for the "finer dining", go upstairs.

It's a busy place, and there are no end of tarty dressed staff to look after you. We had one at the front door, one at the top of the stairs, one to take our coats, one to explain the menu, one to take our order and one to serve our food.

The carpaccio was very nice, and the fillet steaks were perfectly cooked to our requests. The apple crumble was the star though, and we had thought ahead far enough to share that, as all portions are massive.

Lots of kids around, so clearly it's a friendly place with a lot of choice for all the family.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

825 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Food and reasonable price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Menu had a great variety of foods from lamb sausage linguini to a BBQ sandwich with chipotle mayo to steaks! It was pretty busy and self-seating on the ground floor so took a while to get a seat but worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Adbagwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food & good portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The food at the Saltlik was really good. The way they serve it a little interesting. You order your main and then your order your side which is shared by the entire table. This worked out really well for our family but I am not sure if it would be ideal if it were just two people.

Overall though I would definitely go back.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank 276CarlosA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best steak in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

This was recommended by the front desk at our hotel, the food is fantastic with good service and an excellent selection of wines and beers. Be prepared to part with your hard earned cash as its a bit pricey. This was by far the most expensive restaurant in Banff we ate at. Well work a visit as a holiday treat.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Leerdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Arrogant waiter”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Food was very good but the waiter was a little too quick at removing the dishes before finishing the meal. Arrogant male waiter! Everything else was very nice,

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MontrealManny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing