We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delish mains!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
221 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-2467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 124 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Delish mains!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

We went as a group of four. Tried the appies - duck tacos and wings. Duck was delish with four mini crispy tacos. Wings where plentiful crispy fried wings with lots of blue cheese and hot sauce. Mains where sirloin steak both cooked to perfection. Fries and sweet fries were good but not great sides. Royal with cheese was amazing, scalloped potatoes weren't great. Crispy chicken with Cesar was great but once again poor side. All the main dishes where great but over shadowed the sides. Good average sides with great mains. Also we shared the lobster mash and maccroini and cheese both where average but not amazing. Nor was the lobster mash worth the 12 dollars. Recommend the restaurant, but is over priced for the average, poorly thought out side dishs which accompany the delish, perfectly cooked mains.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

477 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    228
    145
    57
    34
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“They need to get their act together”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We ate dinner there as a part of a large group and found the experience frustrating due to the slow and inept service. It took forever to be seated, to order, get our food, and even get our bill. Our waiter kept coming up with the lamest excuses and needed reminders about several items which he had forgotten. The food was fine except for one of our steak orders which was sent back at least twice. Although the price of that meal was deducted from the bill, the rest of our party did not get any compensation for a long-delayed reservation, a broken wine glass, forgotten side orders, absent coffees and most of all, very slow service. This restaurant needs to focus on better training its staff.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Recommended by our concierge but we were disappointed. The good news is that we were seated quickly and two of the meals ( bone-in rib eye and a salad) were very good. Bad news was (1) my son's steak was ordered medium-well, which the menu claims would have pink, was instead overly well-done and tough as nails; (2) we were seated upstairs and though we beat the crowd @ 6:45, by 7:15 we couldn't hear ourselves think (thus don't sit upstairs if it might get crowded; (3) my son had an Arnold Palmer to drink, and they offered to get him another one when he finished it early, and the charge was $4.50 apiece times two, or $9.00!!; and (4) we waited 35 minutes for the main courses to arrive; and (5) twice we sat with dirty dishes stacked on our table waiting for someone to remove them, but servers, busboys, and the hostess walked past repeatedly without even noticing.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Canada
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing Service and great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Recommended by a friend who lives in Banff, as a first-timer to Banff I was excited for some local cuisine, Alberta Beef! MY server was amazing! She went beyond to ensure I was happy with all of my selections and kept modifying my drinks to get it right for me--a determined consumer!! The beef and barley soup was delicious! The atmosphere was warm and cozy, but hip and enjoyable! Thank you Saltlik for a great night in Banff!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walpole, Massachusetts, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Comfortable place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great food, along with a nice place. dinner was so great that we went back for lunch. Our best choice in Banff.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltlik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.