We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steak” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
221 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-2467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
Alberta
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The atmosphere at the Saltlik is casual and fun whether you are downstairs in the lounge or upstairs in the dinning area. It can get a little loud upstairs when it gets busy, but that seems quite normal in Banff. Banff = Good Times!

Oh yeah...great steak!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    188
    72
    37
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

Great waiter, great food...pricey...but we knew that in advance! Service was quick, and the food is ala carte...the sides come family style for you to share...the scalloped potatoes are really really good!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minersville, Pennsylvania, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Romantic dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Husband and I both had 7 ounce filet mignon and shared an order of asparagus both were prepared and presented very well was a little on the pricey side but worth it

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“AWESOME Service and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Great food and service! Myself and 4 friends attended the restaurant and had perfect service and meals. We ordered several appetizers and salads all agreed that they were delicious! We shared the 'wok fried calamari', 'baja shrimp' and I had the 'Ahi Tuna Salad' which was filling and tasty! Great selection of beers and drinks. Our waitress was attentive, friendly and personable which was a big part of our positive experience-we will be back!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochrane, Canada
1 review
“Superb Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

A quick note to express our gratitude to you and your staff for a superb customer service experience that we had last night at your Banff Saltlik restaurant. The high level of service, thoroughness and attention to detail by everyone that we dealt with in your restaurant was a real pleasure for my wife and I. Everyone from the person I first spoke to on the phone, to the greeters, the lounge servers, then our dining room servers etc. were all five star in performance. Someone has done an incredible job training all of your staff and there clearly is a high level of expectation as demonstrated by the way each of them just knew exactly when to show up, what information to tell us before we even asked and look after all of our needs. Oh and by the way, the food and drinks were also incredible ;)

We often work remotely in Banff on Fridays and sometimes stay over night for a get-a-way evening, so we now have a new favorite dining spot, see you soon - thank you again for this fantastic dining experience.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltlik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.