We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lively Restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
221 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-2467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lively Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

The food was great and the service was good. The setting is fun and very open. As more people came it became very noisy, so we were unable to hear each other across the table.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    209
    131
    53
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Great find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We recently visited Banff for a skiing and happened upon the Saltlik one evening. We were happy to find a 1/2 price bottle of wine special and thoroughly enjoyed our appetizers, dinner and desserts. The waitress was very welcoming and made sure to tell us of all the "must do" things around the area. (We were in the Banff area for skiing and hadn't given much thought to other activities or places to visit.) It was an all around pleasant dining experience and very reasonable. The next day we skied Sunshine Village and happened to notice an ad for Saltlick. That night there was a steak special for $18. We couldn't resist. We returned to the restaurant and had an equally good dining experience. The steak dinners were excellent and the staff was very happy to see us for a second night. If you're in Banff and looking for a comfortable place to dine with great service and delicious food, this is your place!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Food disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Nice setting and ambiance. Drinks are well-priced at Happy Hour. Overall the drink/food costs seem to have become more competitive in the last few years. I have been a regular for 12 years but undoubtedly the consistency in standard and quality of some of the dishes has diminished.

The current meal/drink deal for a burger and a pint is good value. However, beware as the fries are very much spiced and induce an immense thirst due to the unexpected hot spiced flavour. This is not at all pleasant after a while and actually burns your lips. For those who do not like spicy food, the fact that there is no choice and it is not mentioned in either the menu or by the server is disturbing. It could ruin your meal.

Similarly, the menu is often very misleading as what is delivered does not usually correspond with the menu description. By way of example, if the sirloin steak is selected I would not imagine many customers would expect it to be served-up covered in a spicy hot barbecue sauce! It totally ruins the inherent steak flavour. Once again the menu makes no reference of this fundamental fact and the staff/management are dismissive of any constructive comments. There is no chance of avoiding this unexpected spicy addition to the dish. I observed many customers complaining of this fact, and leaving most disgruntled.

Overall today it is a good place for a drink, but if you like quality food best go elsewhere in Banff at the current time. It is to be hoped that the standards will soon improve at this venue, as there has been such a decline since 2008. Could do a lot better, and from what I have observed on many occasions the management are not at all concerned with dealing with customer complaints, leaving matters to no-doubt poorly paid servers. A good shake up and properly defined menu would go a long way to resolving problems.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food & Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We went here for Valentine's dinner. The atmosphere of the restaurant was really inviting and we were seated in a booth in the corner by the fireplace which was nice considering it was Valentines Day. We ended up ordering too much food because the portion size is quite large. The flank steak cobb salad was amazing and the flank steak actually had more flavour then my husband's rib steak. Overall the food was really good and the price was very reasonable considering how much food we got. Service was also excellent.Would recommend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Amazing food, amazing service. Definitely recommend if you are in Banff. You won't be disappointed. Best steak hands down!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltlik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.