We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food & Atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
221 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-2467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 122 restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Food & Atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We went here for Valentine's dinner. The atmosphere of the restaurant was really inviting and we were seated in a booth in the corner by the fireplace which was nice considering it was Valentines Day. We ended up ordering too much food because the portion size is quite large. The flank steak cobb salad was amazing and the flank steak actually had more flavour then my husband's rib steak. Overall the food was really good and the price was very reasonable considering how much food we got. Service was also excellent.Would recommend.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    209
    128
    52
    31
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

Amazing food, amazing service. Definitely recommend if you are in Banff. You won't be disappointed. Best steak hands down!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Could do better.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Had a drink on way back from ski hill, and the bartender mentioned the Wednesday offer of steak @ $15 so we went back after a quick change.
Ordered said steak and was cooked to perfection! However it was smothered in a strong BBQ sauce that was not mentioned on the offers menu.
Spoilt the evening. We tried to explain about the lack of description used on the menu but it made difference.
Came across as arrogant from my point of view.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Menu does not describe what is served”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Very arrogant treatment following receipt of steak which was smothered in a hot BBQ sauce. This was not described on menu choice and simply over powered flavour of what could have been an excellent piece of steak. Problem was reported mid- meal but no attempt to remedy matters. No doubt hot spicy sauce is endeavour to increase drink sales. Why not smother every meal in a sauce irrespective of menu description or what a customer wants. I have taken business colleagues to Saltlik for over 10 years for at least 4 weeks per annum. There was no attempt to deal with the issue today. I will never give any further custom to the organisation. I would now recommend The Keg when in Banff.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“very nice service, great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

We just stopped in for a quick bite on the way back to the ski hill.....wish we could have tried the restaurant, but ate in the lounge. Had a nice bottle of wine, shared a steak and the duck tacos. Tacos were different, and very tasty.

There was a new waitress, and although she did not necessarily know everything yet, was very helpful and accommodating.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltlik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.