We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
221 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-2467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #20 of 123 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
cornwall uk
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We went here after seeing the ad whilst at Sunshine - 8oz prime sirloin on Wednesdays for 15 bucks. The upstairs restaurant was closed due to a private function so sat in the bar downstairs which was really nice - spacious area, large screen tvs with sports showing. Happy hour till 7 - certain tap beers for 5 bucks. Steak was served with skinny fries and a delicious jus, good sized portion, served rare as requested, no complaints whatsoever. Other items on the menu were a little pricey but the portion sizes were good. Excellent value steak meal and beer.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

78% Recommend
    228
    144
    56
    32
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

The staff were pleasant and helpful. I am gluten intolerant and they were able to provide me with options that allowed for a very enjoyable meal. The steak was done beautifully and I loved the maple butter squash.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nova Scotia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey because of a la carte!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful spot to eat - food was good but not as great as I had hoped especially for the $$. We had six family members so it was a very pricey night and we didn't have much to drink or dessert. Great environment, good service but was hoping for outstanding steak since were in an Albertan steakhouse. Not sure if I would return.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The Waiting time worth.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

After 1 1/2 hours waiting we went up stairs for a good dining experience. After ordering, they came back twice to let us know that we had to chose somthing else because a lack of food. Other than that the steaks were excellent as well as the service. There is no wine bottle under $41 an you need to pay for your sides.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Excellent food, okay service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We've been a number of times and this is one of our favorite places to eat in Banff. We find the upstairs restaurant to have a warm feel and enjoy the ambience. The food is always excellent, but the service on our most recent visit was a little lacking. Our waiter mentioned he was losing his voice and we had a very difficult time hearing him, and that makes the ordering experience a little more challenging and to be candid a little more of a hassle than it should be. If you haven't eaten here before, plan on sharing side dishes, probably one for each two people, and don't really worry about saving room for dessert as they are pretty pedestrian. The stakes however are fantastic.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltlik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.