We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Scalloped potatoes on earth” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
221 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-2467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
calgary
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Best Scalloped potatoes on earth”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

We've visited Saltlik several times and feel like they deserve a few good words. The lounge downstairs is warm and always has a good vibe , plus very good service . The dining room upstairs is absolutely fabulous , the Al a Carte menu offers steaks that will satisfy anyone that enjoys good food , however don't forget to order the scalloped potatoes because they are the best on earth !

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    159
    64
    34
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medicine Hat, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Amazing dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

This place can be a bit deceiving, the front is a pub with pub food, and although it is good the place to eat is their dining room upstairs. If you are looking for a NICE place with GREAT food and great service.

It can be a bit pricey as is all ala carte but more portions are big enough to share, ask your server. This IS the place to come for steak.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Amazing steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

If you like really amazing steak and burgers this is the place for you! Staff were friendly and were great a advising what was good to eat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Best food in Banff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

My husband and I had been regulars at Saltlik for years. They have delicious food, good beer, friendly staff, and the atmosphere is very relaxing. We even had our cocktail hour and wedding reception here. Overall, it is a fabulous restaurant - you can't leave Banff without trying the food!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Food and Drinks were good, expensive on the other hand”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Visited the Saltlik yesterday to watch the Grey Cup game. I had their beef burger and fries. Burger was quite good however the fries tasted over salted.

They do have NFL Sunday specials however they are limited. Dry ribs come sauced, wings are not and they only have one drink special on beer. I don't care for beer so there was no special for me.

Althought the food and drinks are good, I believe it is too pricey for what you receive.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltlik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.