We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ambiance and food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Saltlik

Saltlik
221 Bear St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A1, Canada
403-762-2467
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 125 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $31 - $50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Wolf or Caribou
Transit: Public transit stops within walking distance.
Edmundston, NB
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great ambiance and food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Like the food and the service. It was a very busy night so it was a little bit noisy. The service was great.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    243
    153
    64
    34
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Great calamari”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stopped in for drinks and appetizers one evening. The ambiance is nice, the drinks were good and the calamari was excellent.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albert, Canada
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“I have only had great meals here.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

This is the fourth time I have eaten here and it has been fantastic every time! Big portions of excellent cuts of beef, prepared to your liking. It is pricey, but you definitely get what you pay for. You order your choice of meat for you and then sides usually as a group. The sides are well prepared and very tasty. If you love meat, this is the place for you. They also accommodated my 3 kids under 5 very well.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Good food comes at a price”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

chose this restaurant from a recommendation of a local shop keeper, and well, it was great. Food was cooked to perfection not too large portions.
Wine was after a bit of deliberation excellent - sorry it was Australian
starters shrimp , mains sea bass - excellent and a good size. rib-eye steak cooked to perfection, veggies etc where extra so beware, but are good sized portions. Coffee foc
Total $160 for 2

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“I wanted to lick the plate!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Dinner at Saltlik upstairs in the dining room, early on a Saturday night. The restaurant occupies two floors, with a spacious bar on the main floor and an equally spacious dining area all done in dark wood on the second level. We arrived at 6 pm, and the place wasn't very busy, so we got speedy service from a really great young waiter. No buns or bread, which we appreciated. My friend ordered the salmon, I chose the sea bass and we also added a side of scalloped potatoes as the mains come with veg. We also order a green salad to share. The food arrived quickly and we dug in to perfectly cooked fish dressed with a magical mix of herbs and flavoured oil. The salmon was served with fennel and my sea bass came with a tasty mix of baby yellow and red beets. The scalloped potatoes were very good. As I finished I said to my friend, "I'd like to lick the plate!" We didn't choose dessert because we were tight for time but the short menu didn't look all that exciting...the usual creme brulee and chocolate cake.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Saltlik also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Saltlik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Saltlik, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.