We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub

Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub
202 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-2121
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #62 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Leicester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Warm and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I went in early evening wanting decent food at a reasonable price. It was very quiet as on such a nice sunny day most people were still on their way back from the ski hill. The waitress was very friendly and made good food recommendations. This is Banff so don't expect cheap and do remember that it's normal here to need to add on 20% to the price you see on the menu (15% tip plus 5% tax). Drinks OK food great. Friendly, easy, recommended.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    86
    29
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Nice old style pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Visited several times during our recent visit to Banff and never disappointed. Good selection of food and drink that was always spot on and daily specials that were great value. Staff friendly and generally a good pub atmosphere. Dark with lots of wood furniture that gives it the feel of an old English pub. Live music a bit hit & miss but otherwise a good place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great views of Banff & Yummy Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Banff on our honeymoon and had dinner at this restaurant. It is located upstairs, overlooking downtown Banff and the mountains. We both ordered burgers. I ordered the veggie burger, which was delicious, and my husband ordered the BBQ Bison burger, which he enjoyed as well. The service, though, wasn't the best we received while in Banff but, if you're looking for a yummy burger, we would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fun place with very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We love the Rose and Crown! The atmosphere is cozy, the service is excellent and the food is very good. Love the Fish and Chips. Wme ake it a point to dine here each time we visit Banff.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Always a Great Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Although we stayed in Canmore it was well worth the taxi ride to and from the Rose & Crown. The live music is always great (this last time they played heavier rock such as Metallica and Guns and Roses but I can't remember the name of the band). They were great guys though as they let 3 members of our group take pictures with their guitars. The service was excellent once again with wait staff always coming around at the right time. They were also very nice despite our dancing and posing on tables and chairs. Finally the people that go there are aged 30 and up so you don't have to worry about fights between hos and bros. Plus they are from all over the world and very interesting to talk to - if you are good with accents.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.