We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice old style pub” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub

Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub
202 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-2121
Website
Menu
Update restaurant details
Ranked #51 of 120 restaurants in Banff
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
London
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice old style pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Visited several times during our recent visit to Banff and never disappointed. Good selection of food and drink that was always spot on and daily specials that were great value. Staff friendly and generally a good pub atmosphere. Dark with lots of wood furniture that gives it the feel of an old English pub. Live music a bit hit & miss but otherwise a good place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

72% Recommend
    38
    62
    23
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great views of Banff & Yummy Burgers”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

My husband and I recently visited Banff on our honeymoon and had dinner at this restaurant. It is located upstairs, overlooking downtown Banff and the mountains. We both ordered burgers. I ordered the veggie burger, which was delicious, and my husband ordered the BBQ Bison burger, which he enjoyed as well. The service, though, wasn't the best we received while in Banff but, if you're looking for a yummy burger, we would recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fun place with very good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We love the Rose and Crown! The atmosphere is cozy, the service is excellent and the food is very good. Love the Fish and Chips. Wme ake it a point to dine here each time we visit Banff.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Always a Great Time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Although we stayed in Canmore it was well worth the taxi ride to and from the Rose & Crown. The live music is always great (this last time they played heavier rock such as Metallica and Guns and Roses but I can't remember the name of the band). They were great guys though as they let 3 members of our group take pictures with their guitars. The service was excellent once again with wait staff always coming around at the right time. They were also very nice despite our dancing and posing on tables and chairs. Finally the people that go there are aged 30 and up so you don't have to worry about fights between hos and bros. Plus they are from all over the world and very interesting to talk to - if you are good with accents.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“New Menu .... Not to be missed!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Every year we come to Banff and every year we come to the Rose and Crown, it's tradition! The menu has changed since our last visit but most certainly for the better.

The dishes are much more varied but very nice. The only thing I'd avoid is the pizza, if you want a decent pizza go to a proper pizza place.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose & Crown Restaurant & Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.