We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“¡Bien!, bien!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magpie & Stump

Magpie & Stump
203 Caribou St, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
403-762-4067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $9 - $23
Cuisines: Mexican, International, Dessert, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Canmore, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“¡Bien!, bien!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2015 NEW

Great food, cheap beer and good service, what more could you want?
Very good epanadas and spicy pork flautas.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    65
    76
    28
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Aylesbury
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“good and simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Mexican food served in a lively restaurant. Drinks come in a jar. A noisy fun place to have a good meal

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airdrie, Canada
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Ariba”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2015

Probably to best Mexican food in alberta. Great portion sizes. The margaritas are also very good. It is a pretty busy place so reservations are recommended.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alberta
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2015

I will say I love the atmosphere of this place. It is quaint , but if you are looking for fancy then don't go. But I will say I had the worst margarita I have ever had and the food was just average Mexican . But our server was great.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Standard Mexican fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2015

Happy to accommodate thirteen on a long table, which was fun, the Magpie and Stump provided pretty standard food, and the waitress was very friendly. The menu was a little limited, however everyone found something to their liking. We didn't, however, find anything outstanding to recommend. All in all a good place to come for Mexican, especially if you're trying to find somewhere to turn up with thirteen on a busy Saturday night! Don't expect miracles from the kitchens though.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magpie & Stump also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Magpie & Stump? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magpie & Stump, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.